Wüstencamp Oman

Wüstencamp Oman

DESERT CAMP OMAN: THE AL REEM DESERT CAMP

Who doesn't dream of spending a night in the desert? Enjoy the absolute silence, marvel at the Milky Way without disturbing light and put your feet in the fine sand. We made this dream come true in a desert camp in Oman - a night at Al Reem Desert Camp [ad].

Reisetipps Oman

Location and arrival

Al Reem Desert Camp is located near the city of Jalan Badi Buhassan on the eastern edge of the mighty Wahiba Desert. The approach to the gates of the camp is suitable for normal cars, i.e. you do not need four-wheel drive or expensive transfer as is the case in other desert camps of the Oman.

Shortly after the city you leave the paved road and turn onto a stuck sand track. As I said, this slope is not a problem for cars without all-wheel drive. When you leave the paved road, you get to know the camp's first neighbors, wild camels.

You can get there from Muskat in a good three hours. Either you take the highways 15 and 23 over the mountains and inland or the coastal route over the highways 17 and 23. If you make a round trip from / to Muskat through the north of the Oman, it is advisable to approach via one Route and return via the other.

It is about an hour's drive to the coastal town of Sur. It takes about three hours to Nizwa. The relatively short travel times are due to the excellent roads in Oman.

Reisetipps Oman

EQUIPMENT AND DESIGN OF THE DESERT CAMP OMAN AL REEM DESERT CAMP

If you walk through the large entrance gate to the camp, you will feel like in a Bedouin camp.

Every detail is taken care of on the grounds of the desert camp. An Arabic fountain and small candles and lamps at every nook and corner make the camp an inviting place in the desert that will really put you in a kind of Orient romantic. The sense of smell also plays a major role here, because it smells of incense and other Arabic aromas, which we could not assign exactly, but which triggered something in us. In the evening it smells of grilled meat and smoke from the romantic campfire.

This Omani desert camp is divided into two areas. One area includes the living and sleeping huts or tents, which are arranged in a circle around the fountain. The other area includes the restaurant area, barbecue area and the cozy campfire lounge.

In both areas there are always small covered common areas or tents that invite you to relax. Here you really feel like in a fairy tale from 1001 nights.

We had a spacious Classic Suite - but we also recommend the authentic Bedouin tents. The decor of the suites is authentically in Omani style. A large double bed and a wardrobe provide everything you need. The other equipment is safe, shower, toilet and refrigerator at a good level. Bath products, such as shampoos, shower gel or creams can also be found in the bathroom.

In terms of romance, the Al Reem Desert Camp is only surpassed by The Legend of Dunes.

It is a kind of outpost of the Al Reem Desert Camp and represents something like the prototype of a desert camp in Oman. It is not like the Al Reem Desert Camp on the edge of the desert, but in the middle of it. The Legend of Dunes is located on really high dunes far in the interior of the desert. Here you are really alone in the middle of the desert. No other guests, just an employee who takes care of you, is on site. We didn't spend a night here, but let the sunset work on us with Omani tea. In our opinion, the sunsets in the desert are the best in the world. Here you sleep in luxurious tents and relax on pillows in the sand. Really unique.

Reisetipps Oman
Reisetipps Oman

ACTIVITIES

In the desert camp in Oman you have the opportunity to undertake exciting activities.

We went on a desert safari by jeep. Our driver Masood climbed the dunes with us and we had a lot of fun doing it. At the beginning you can hardly believe that you can drive up these steep dunes with a car. The feeling of driving towards the almost vertical sand walls with so much speed is a little scary. Once at the top of the crest of the dune, we could enjoy the view and take photos. You can only see such extremely fine and clean sand in the desert.

Otherwise you can of course also go camel riding, which we personally don't find so cool because of the camel keeping.

Reisetipps Oman
Reisetipps Oman

If you want, you can get an insight into the life of the Bedouins.

You can also take part in a cooking course for Bedouin food and immerse yourself in the cuisine of the region. Unfortunately we didn't have time for that anymore, but that sounds really exciting.

If you want, you can also take part in guided trips to Ras Al Jinz for turtle watching.

There is a children's playground in the camp for the little ones.

We really enjoyed walking around the small dunes in the camp and sitting in the sand. From there, there is also a great view of the entire camp.

Reisetipps Oman

CULINARY PLEASURE AT THE AL REEM DESERT CAMP - DESERT CAMP OMAN

The dining area of ​​the Al Reem Desert Camp is also decorated in the typical Omani style. Covered but still open on all sides, you sit here in the warm night air of the desert and enjoy the delicacies from the grill.

The always friendly and hard-working employees grilled us delicious juicy chicken over an open fire. There was also a variety of delicious oriental side dishes, fresh salads and delicious Omani-style bread. Everything tasted great.

After the meal, the staff prepare seat cushions and carpets for the guests around the campfire. Here you can listen to the sounds of the desert and the crackling of the campfire and end the evening with tea and sweet pastries.

Also at breakfast in one of the few desert camps in Oman nothing is left to be desired. The staff always ensure that fresh fruit such as melon, figs, dates, apples or bananas are replenished. There is also no shortage of bread and sweet spreads such as jam or honey. Of course there is also tea and coffee to start the day with strength. Overall, the breakfast is absolutely sufficient and very varied for the fact that you are in a desert camp in Oman.

A stay at the Al Reem Desert Camp is a romantic adventure in breathtaking surroundings, where you don't have to do without anything.

CONCLUSION ABOUT THE AL REEM DESERT CAMP - DESERT CAMP OMAN

A dedicated owner and very friendly staff make your stay in the middle of mighty sand dunes unforgettable. The desert simply has something magical that keeps captivating us. If you want to experience the real desert or already desert fans

Definitely a very good choice when it comes to Oman Desert Camp.

Other posts you may be interested in:

Camp Website

Al Reem Desert Camp website.

Tour operator Musandam

Discover the beautiful Musandam Fjords with the dhow.

Packing list

Here you will find our packing list for your trip to Oman.

Camp booking

Book your stay at Al Reem Desert Camp.

Oman Highlights

Our top 10 highlights on our Oman tour.

Hotels in Oman

We have a few hotel recommendations for you.

Oman travel tips

General information you need for your trip.

Oman travel report

We report on our adventure and route.
en_US
de_DE_formal en_US

Wüstencamp Oman

Wüstencamp Oman: Das Al Reem Desert Camp ♦ Oman

Wer träumt nicht davon einmal eine Nacht in der Wüste zu verbringen? Die absolute Stille genießen, die Milchstraße ohne störendes Licht bestaunen und die Füße in den feinen Sand stecken. Wir haben uns diesen Traum in einem Wüstencamp im Oman erfüllt – eine Nacht im Al Reem Desert Camp [anzeige].

Al reem Desert camp

Lage und Anreise

Nahe der Stadt Jalan Badi Buhassan liegt am östlichen Rande der mächtigen Wahiba Wüste das Al Reem Desert Camp. Die Anfahrt bis zu den Toren des Camps ist für normale Autos geeignet, d.h. man benötigt keinen Allradantrieb oder teuren Transfer wie das in anderen Wüstencamps des Omans der Fall ist.

Kurz nach der Stadt verlasst ihr die asphaltierte Straße und biegt auf eine festgefahrene Sandpiste ein. Wie gesagt, diese Piste ist aber für Autos ohne Allrad kein Problem. Wenn man die asphaltierte Straße verlässt, lernt man bereits die ersten Nachbarn des Camps kennen, wilde Kamele.

Die Anfahrt könnt ihr von Muskat aus in guten drei Stunden schaffen. Entweder ihr nehmt die Fernstraßen 15 und 23 über das Gebirge und das Landesinnere oder aber die Küstenroute über die Fernstraße 17 und 23. Wenn ihr eine Rundreise ab/bis Muskat durch den Norden des Omans macht, bietet es sich an, die Anfahrt über die eine Route und die Rückfahrt über die andere zu machen.

Zur Küstenstadt Sur ist es etwa eine Stunde Fahrzeit. Nach Nizwa braucht ihr etwa drei Stunden. Die relativ kurzen Fahrzeiten sind auf die hervorragenden Straßen im Oman zurückzuführen.

Al reem desert camp

Ausstattung und Design des Wüstencamp Oman Al Reem Desert Camp

Wenn ihr das große Eingangstor zum Camp durchschreitet, werdet ihr euch wie in einem Beduinencamp fühlen.

Auf dem Gelände des Wüstencamps wird auf jedes Detail geachtet. Ein arabischer Brunnen und kleine Kerzen und Lampen an allen Ecken und Enden machen das Camp zu einem einladenden Ort in der Wüste, der euch wirklich in eine Art Orient-Romantik versetzen wird. Auch der Geruchssinn spielt hierbei eine große Rolle, denn es riecht nach Weihrauch und anderen arabischen Aromen, die wir nicht genau zuordnen konnten, aber etwas in uns ausgelöst haben. Abends duftet es dann nach Gegrilltem und Rauch vom romantischen Lagerfeuer.

Dieses Omanische Wüstencamp ist aufgeteilt in zwei Bereiche. Der eine Bereich umfasst die Wohn- und Schlafhütten oder –zelte, die kreisförmig um den Brunnen angeordnet sind. Der andere Bereich beinhaltet Restaurantbereich, Grillstelle und die gemütliche Lagerfeuer Lounge.

In beiden Bereichen gibt es immer wieder kleine überdachte Gemeinschaftsbereiche oder Zelte, die zum Relaxen einladen. Hier kommt man sich wirklich vor wie in den Märchen aus 1001 Nacht.

Wir hatten eine geräumige Classic Suite - empfehlenswert sind aber auch die authentischen Zelte im Beduinenstil. Die Einrichtung der Suiten sind authentisch im Omani-Stil gehalten. Ein großes Doppelbett und ein Kleiderschrank sorgen für alles Nötige. Die sonstige Ausstattung ist mit Safe, Dusche, Toilette und Kühlschrank auf gutem Niveau. Badeartikel, wie Shampoos, Duschgel oder Cremes findet ihr auch im Badezimmer.

Wahiba Desert
Wüstencamp Oman

In Sachen Romantik wird das Al Reem Desert Camp nur noch durch The Legend of Dunes übertroffen. Dabei handelt es sich um eine Art Außenposten des Al Reem Desert Camp und stellt so etwas wie den Prototyp eines Wüstencamps im Oman dar. Es befindet sich nicht wie das Al Reem Wüstencamp am Rand der Wüste, sondern mitten drin. Auf wirklich hohen Dünen weit im Inneren der Wüste liegt das The Legend of Dunes. Hier seid ihr wirklich alleine inmitten der Wüste. Keine anderen Gäste, nur ein Mitarbeiter, der euch versorgt, ist vor Ort. Wir haben hier zwar keine Nacht verbracht, aber den Sonnenuntergang bei Omani-Tee auf uns wirken lassen. Unserer Meinung nach sind die Sonnenuntergänge in der Wüste die besten der Welt. Hier schlaft ihr in luxuriösen Zelten und relaxed auf Kissen im Sand. Wirklich einmalig.

Wahiba Desert Sunset
Wahiba Desert Sunset

Aktivitäten

Im Wüstencamp im Oman habt ihr die Möglichkeit spannende Aktivitäten zu unternehmen. Wir haben uns auf eine Wüstensafari mit dem Jeep begeben. Unser Fahrer Masood ist mit uns über die Dünen gebrettert und wir hatten dabei richtig Spaß. Anfangs kann man gar nicht fassen, dass man mit einem Auto diese steilen Dünen hochfahren kann. Das Gefühl mit so viel Tempo auf die fast senkrechten Sandwände zuzufahren, ist schon etwas beängstigend. Oben auf dem Kamm der Düne angekommen, konnten wir den Ausblick genießen und Fotos schießen. So extrem feinen und sauberen Sand sieht man eben nur in der Wüste.
Ansonsten könnt ihr natürlich auch noch Kamelreiten, was wir persönlich nicht so cool finden.

Desert Safari
Desert Safari

Wenn ihr wollt, bekommt ihr Einblick in das Leben der Beduinen.

Auch an einem Kochkurs für Beduinen-Food könnt ihr teilnehmen und in die Kulinarik der Region eintauchen. Dazu hatten wir leider keine Zeit mehr, aber das hört sich wirklich spannend an.

Wenn ihr wollt, könnt ihr auch an geführten Ausflügen nach Ras Al Jinz zum Turtle Watching teilnehmen.

Für die kleinen gibt es im Camp einen Kinderspielplatz.

Uns hat es aber schon super gut gefallen auf den kleinen Dünen im Camp rumzulaufen und im Sand zu sitzen. Von dort oben eröffnet sich auch ein toller Blick auf das gesamte Camp.

Wahiba Desert

Kulinarischer Genuss im Al Reem Desert Camp - Wüstencamp Oman

Der Essensbereich des Al Reem Desert Camps ist ebenfalls im typischen Omani Stil eingerichtet. Überdacht aber doch zu allen Seiten hin offen, sitzt ihr hier in der warmen Nachtluft der Wüste und genießt die Köstlichkeiten vom Grill. Die stets freundlichen und fleißigen Mitarbeiter haben uns leckeres saftiges Hühnchen über offenem Feuer gegrillt. Dazu gab es eine Vielzahl an leckeren orientalischen Beilagen, frische Salate und köstliche Brote im Omanischen Stil. Alles hat uns hervorragend geschmeckt.

Wahiba Desert
Wahiba Desert

Nach dem Essen bereiten die Mitarbeiter für die Gäste Sitzkissen und Teppiche am Lagerfeuer vor. Hier könnt ihr den Geräuschen der Wüste und dem Knistern des Lagerfeuers lauschen und den Abend bei Tee und süßem Gebäck ausklingen lassen.

Auch zum Frühstück bleibt in einem der wenigen Wüstencamps Omans keine Wünsche offen. Die Mitarbeiter sorgen stets für Nachschub an frischen Früchten wie Melone, Feigen, Datteln, Äpfeln oder Bananen. Auch an Brot sowie süßen Aufstrichen wie Marmelade oder Honig mangelt es nicht. Natürlich gibt es auch Tee und Kaffee, um mit Kraft in den Tag zu starten. Insgesamt ist das Frühstück absolut ausreichend und für den Umstand, dass ihr euch in einem Wüstencamp im Oman befindet, sehr vielfältig.

Ein Aufenthalt im Al Reem Desert Camp ist ein romantisches Abenteuer in atemberaubender Umgebung, bei dem ihr auf nichts verzichten müsst.

Wahiba Desert

Fazit zum Al Reem Desert Camp – Wüstencamp Oman

Ein engagierter Eigner und sehr freundliche Mitarbeiter machen den Aufenthalt inmitten mächtiger Sanddünen unvergesslich. Die Wüste hat einfach etwas Magisches, das uns immer wieder in seinen Bann zieht. Wenn ihr die wahre Wüste erleben wollt oder schon Wüstenfans
Auf jeden Fall eine sehr gute Wahl, wenn es um Wüstencamp Oman geht.

♦♦♦♦