National Parks in Uganda

Sanctuarys, Forests and National Parks: Gorilla Trekking Uganda and more

We saw a lot during our 8 day trip with HomeToAfrica [ad] through the country, known as the Pearl of Africa. We want to introduce you to the most beautiful national parks and areas in Uganda so that you know which animals you can see where. So much already: The country has cast a spell over us.

On our Uganda Safari we visited the fenced Ziwa Rhino Sanctuary, the beautiful Murchison Falls National Park, the Kibale Forest National Park, the Queen Elizabeth National Park and the mystical Bwindi Impenetrable Forest.

Ziwa Rhino Sanctuary

The Rhino Sanctuary was the first stop on our Uganda Safari and is about two hours north of Kampala. The park is fenced and guarded. Unfortunately, this is imperative because the rhinoceros is on the brink of extinction. You don't notice the fence when you move around the protected area and watch the impressive animals. Due to the size of the park, it feels like in the wild.

Twenty-five Southern White Rhinos live in the park. Over the next few years, the first animals will be released into the wild to reintroduce the rhinoceros to Uganda. Hopefully you can already see the first free and wild rhinos in Uganda on your Uganda Safari.

rhino sanctuary, Uganda

We were allowed to watch seven rhinos on a bushwalk and came really close to them. Always accompanied by a ranger, you get incredibly interesting information and with your visit you also support the conservation of this endangered species.

Short fact about rhinos: They can't see well, but they can smell and hear damn well.

rhino sanctuary, Uganda
rhino sanctuary, Uganda

MURCHISON FALLS NATIONAL PARK

The Murchison Falls National Park is divided into the southern and northern parts by the Victoria Nile. The southern part is characterized by lush green jungle, the northern part is savannah and is home to the animals for which you go on safari in Uganda.

Murchison falls national park, uganda

A boat tour to the mighty Murchison Waterfalls is possible from both sides. On this tour we were able to observe elephants, hippos and crocodiles from the water and came very close to them.

The goal of the boat tour is the waterfall, which does not show all of its beauty from below. For this you should look at it from above.

The boat trip takes about 2 to 3 hours and is really cool.

Murchison falls, Uganda
Murchison falls national park, Uganda
Murchison falls, uganda

The captain lets the passengers out at a small jetty if necessary, so that you can hike to "Top of the Falls".

Prerequisite: Your guide knows and will pick you up again. The walk costs $ 15 and is idyllic along the waterfall.

Murchison falls, Uganda
Murchison falls, uganda

The car ferry that connects the southern and northern parts of the park crosses the Nile every hour in the high season and every two hours in the low season. The crossing takes about 5 minutes.
In the northern part there are the big cats, an incredible number of giraffes and elephants. We have never seen so many giraffes anywhere else. The landscape is incredibly beautiful. A beautiful vegetation with tall grass, palm trees and large trees. Everything is lush green, because the Murchison Falls National Park has many small water sources.

In our opinion, the Murchison National Park is the most beautiful of all Uganda National Parks in terms of landscape and wildlife.

Murchison falls national park, Uganda

There are several accommodations in this national park in northern Uganda. The lodges are not fenced, so you can visit wild animals at night. But of course you are safe in the buildings. This also enabled us to observe giraffes in the immediate vicinity at sunset from the pool. Incredibly beautiful.

Murchison falls national park, Uganda

KIBALE FOREST NATIONAL PARK - UGANDA NATIONAL PARKS

If you want to see chimpanzees, take care of the permits long before your Uganda Safari. With about $ 150 per person you are there. In comparison to the Gorilla Permits a real bargain and also an absolute highlight of the Uganda Safari. If you book a safari package, the tour provider will of course take care of the permits.

Early in the morning we got together with other groups at the park entrance. After a brief informative briefing on the rules of behavior, the territory and the way of life of the primates, we marched into the jungle in small groups. The terrain is mostly flat and not particularly difficult to walk on. If necessary, you can book a carrier that supports you.

Kibale, uganda

There are four chimpanzee communities in Kibale Forest, three of which may only be visited by humans for research purposes, the fourth of which is accessible to tourists. So it tries to put a little strain on the natural balance through tourism.

chimp trekking, uganda

We recommend the following equipment for the walk in the jungle to the chimpanzees:

- Long clothes
- Long socks (put the pants in the socks)
- Mosquito spray
- Drinking water
- Rain jacket (as it can rain in the rainforest from time to time)
- Photo equipment
- Walking boots
- Tip (for the guide)

chimpanzee trekking, Uganda
chimp trekking, Uganda

After about 20 minutes of walking through the humid jungle, we heard the first chimpanzees. Your screeching really echoes through the whole jungle. Soon we saw the first primates in the tree tops. After a few minutes, he actually came down from his tree to the ground. He marched through the jungle at a decent pace. We, of course, at a reasonable distance behind. Suddenly we were in the middle of the chimpanzee family and were viewed with suspicion from all sides. What a cool experience.

It is essential to always keep a certain distance of respect and to follow the rules of conduct. But be careful, sometimes a safe distance doesn't help against crazy chimpanzees who want to show how strong they are. The monkeys throw sticks and tear out trees. They are running a huge circus to show us that we are only guests here. In our group, a chimpanzee hit someone with a wooden stick. These guys are really crazy.

The Kibale Forest National Park is really the most extraordinary of the Uganda National Parks we visit, because the chimpanzees really captivate you.

QUEEN ELIZABETH NATIONAL PARK - UGANDA NATIONAL PARKS

This national park in Uganda is known for its tree-climbing lions. Unfortunately we were not as lucky here as in the other parks and hardly saw any wildlife, so it was the most unspectacular park for us.

Of course, a safari in Uganda always has to do with being in the right place at the right time, and unfortunately we were not so lucky in QE. But our accommodation was the most spectacular on the whole Uganda safari.

* Update: In Queen Elizabeth National Park there was a kidnapping of a safari tourist and her guide by rebels from neighboring Congo in early 2019. Both were released intact after payment of a ransom. So you could at least take it from the media.

queen Elizabeth national park, uganda
queen Elizabeth national park, uganda
queen Elizabeth national park, uganda

In addition to traditional game drives, there is also the possibility to explore the park on a boat trip on the Kazinga channel. The channel connects Lake Edward (the larger part of this lake belongs to the Congo, the smaller to Uganda) and Lake George (Uganda). From the boat, we spotted numerous animals such as elephants, hippos, buffaloes and if you are lucky even lions.

Tip: The boat trip should be most amazing during dry season.

kazinga channel, uganda
kazinga channel, Uganda

Bwindi Impenetrable Forest - Gorilla Trekking Uganda

The mystical Bwindi Impenetrable Forest is one of the last places on earth where the legendary mountain gorillas live and thus also the highlights of our Uganda National Parks.

gorilla trekking, uganda

A permit is required for gorilla trekking, which must be applied for long before the Uganda Safari. The permit is not cheap at $ 600.

The Bwindi National Park is divided into the four areas Buhoma, Ruhija, Nkuringo and Rushaga. You have to specify the area when you book the permit.
A maximum of 72 people can participate in gorilla trekking per day. More than eight people per group are also not allowed. The park administration wants to prevent the gorillas in Uganda's southernmost national park from being adversely affected.

Early in the morning, when the visitors are still asleep, trackers start tracking the gorilla families. When the visitors arrive, the trackers guide the visitors to the gorillas via radio. Depending on the location of the primates, the hike may take between 5 minutes and several hours. After an informative briefing, the adventure starts. In small groups we hiked through heavy terrain in the rain forest. The guides and armed ranger provide interesting information about the gorilla family and its social structure.

gorilla trekking, uganda

Even before the hike, you can book a porter, who carries backpacks or assists hiking.

You should dress and equip as follows:
- Long clothes
- Long socks (put the pants in the socks)
- Mosquito spray
- Drinking water
- Rain jacket (as rain occurs in rainforest)
- Walking boots
- Packed lunch (since you never know how long the trekking lasts)
- Tips (for guide, ranger and tracker)

gorilla trekking, uganda
gorilla trekking, uganda

We found our gorilla family after about an hour of hiking. The gorillas were sitting on a slope in the bushes. It was really a wonderful experience. The gorillas really come very close and it really enchanted us to be able to look over your shoulder in their social life. All in all, we were on the road for about four hours including a hike and a snack in the jungle and arrived back at the starting point totally dirty but overjoyed. Gorilla trekking in the Bwindi Impenetrable Forest was the spectacular highlight of our Uganda Safari.

In the Bwindi Impenetrable Forest, warm clothing should always be in your luggage. It can get really cold at night. The camps are well prepared and offer log fires, hot water bottles (bush babies), tea and so on, but do not underestimate the temperatures up there on the high plateau. The thermometer sometimes drops below five degrees at night.

gorilla trekking, Uganda
gorilla trekking, Uganda

Other posts you may be interested in:

Index

Safari packing list

Here you will find our packing list for your safari to Uganda.

Tour operator in Uganda

We introduce you to the safari provider in Uganda with whom we did the 8-day safari.

Uganda Travel Tips

In this blog post you will find information about Uganda in general.

Uganda Nationalparks

Schutzgebiete, große Wälder und Nationalparks während unserer Uganda Safari

Wir haben während unserer 8-tägigen Reise mit HomeToAfrica [anzeige] durch das Land, das als auch die Perle Afrikas bekannt ist, eine Menge gesehen. Wir wollen euch hier die schönsten Nationalparks und Gebiete Ugandas vorstellen, damit ihr wisst, welche Tiere ihr wo sehen könnt. So viel schon jetzt: Das Land hat uns in seinen Bann gezogen.

Auf unserer Uganda Safari haben wir die eingezäunte Ziwa Rhino Sanctuary, den wunderschönen Murchison Falls Nationalparks, den Kibale Forest Nationalpark, den Queen Elizabeth Nationalpark und den mystischen Bwindi Impenetrable Forest besucht.

Ziwa Rhino Sanctuary

Die Nashorn Schutzgebiet war der erste Stopp während unserer Uganda Safari und befindet sich etwa zwei Stunden nördlich von Kampala. Der Park ist eingezäunt und wird auch bewacht. Leider ist das zwingend notwendig, denn das Nashorn steht kurz vor der Ausrottung. Den Zaun bemerkt man aber nicht, wenn man sich im Schutzgebiet bewegt und die beeindruckenden Tiere beobachtet. Aufgrund der Größe des Parks fühlt es sich an wie in freier Wildbahn.

Im Park leben fünfundzwanzig Southern White Rhinos. In den nächsten Jahren steht die Auswilderung der ersten Tiere an, um das Nashorn in Uganda wieder anzusiedeln. Hoffentlich könnt ihr auf eurer Uganda Safari dann schon die ersten freien und wilden Nashörner in Uganda sehen.

Uganda Safari

Wir durften bei einem Bushwalk sieben Nashörner beobachten und kamen ihnen wirklich sehr nah. Immer begleitet von einem Ranger, erhält man unglaublich interessante Informationen und unterstützt mit seinem Besuch auch die Erhaltung dieser gefährdeten Art.

Short-Fact über Nashörner: Sie können nicht gut sehen, aber verdammt gut riechen und hören.

Ziwa Rhino Sanctuary
Uganda Safari

♦♦♦♦

Murchison Falls

Der Murchison Falls Nationalpark wird durch den Victoria Nil in den südlichen und nördlichen Part geteilt. Der südliche Teil ist von saftig grünem Urwald geprägt, der nördliche Teil ist Savanne und beheimatet die Tiere, wegen denen man in Uganda auf Safari geht.

Uganda Safari

Von beiden Seiten ist eine Bootstour zum mächtigen Murchison Wasserfalls möglich. Bei dieser Tour konnten wir Elefanten, Nilpferde und Krokodile vom Wasser aus beobachten und kamen ihnen dadurch sehr nah.

Ziel der Bootstour ist der Wasserfall, der von unten aber nicht seine ganze Schönheit zeigt. Dafür solltet ihr ihn euch von oben ansehen.

Die Bootsfahrt dauert ca. 2 bis 3 Stunden und ist wirklich cool.

Wasserfall
Elefant im Murchison Falls Nationalpark
Uganda Safari

Der Kapitän lässt die Passagiere bei Bedarf auch an einer kleinen Anlegestelle raus, sodass ihr bis „Top of the Falls“ wandern könnt.

Voraussetzung: Euer Guide weiß Bescheid und holt euch oben wieder ab. Der Walk kostet $15 und führt idyllisch am Wasserfall entlang.

Regenbogen
Uganda Safari

Die Autofähre, die den südlichen und nördlichen Teil des Parks verbindet überquert den Nil in der High Season stündlich und in der Low Season alle zwei Stunden. Die Überfahrt dauert ca. 5 Minuten.
Im nördlichen Teil befinden sich die großen Raubkatzen, unglaublich viele Giraffen und Elefanten. So viele Giraffen haben wir noch nirgendwo anders gesehen. Die Landschaft ist unglaublich schön. Eine wunderschöne Vegetation mit hohen Gräsern, Palmen und großen Bäumen. Alles steht in saftigem grün, denn der Murchison Falls Nationalpark verfügt über viele kleine Wasserquellen.

Landschaftlich und vom Wildlife ist der Murchison Nationalpark unserer Meinung nach der schönste aller Uganda Nationalparks.

Fischer im Murchison Falls Nationalpark

In diesem Nationalpark des nördlichen Ugandas befinden sich mehrere Unterkünfte. Die Lodges sind nicht umzäunt, sodass man in der Nacht durchaus mal Besuch von wilden Tieren erhalten kann. In den Gebäuden seid ihr aber natürlich sicher. Dadurch konnten wir aber auch vom Pool aus Giraffen in nächster Nähe im Sonnenuntergang beobachten. Unglaublich schön.

Giraffen am Pool

♦♦♦♦

Kibale Forest Nationalpark - Uganda Nationalparks

Wenn ihr Schimpansen sehen wollt, kümmert euch bereits lange vor eurer Uganda Safari um die Permits. Mit etwa $150 pro Person seid ihr dabei. Im Vergleich zu den Gorilla Permits ein echtes Schnäppchen und dazu noch ein absolutes Highlight der Uganda Safari. Wenn ihr ein Safari-Packet bucht, kümmert sich natürlich der Touranbieter um die Permits.

Früh am Morgen haben wir uns zusammen mit anderen Gruppen am Parkeingang eingefunden. Nach einem kurzen informativen Briefing zu Verhaltensregeln, Territorium und Lebensweise der Primaten sind wir in kleinen Gruppen in den Dschungel marschiert. Das Terrain ist meist flach und nicht sonderlich schwer zu begehen. Bei Bedarf könnt ihr euch aber einen Träger buchen, der einen unterstützt.

Uganda Safari

Im Kibale Forest befinden sich vier Schimpansen-Communities, wovon drei nur zu Forschungszwecken von Menschen besucht werden dürfen, die vierte aber für Touristen zugänglich ist. So wird hier versucht, das natürliche Gleichgewicht durch den Tourismus nur wenig zu belasten.

Schimpanse im Kibale Forest

Folgende Ausrüstung empfehlen wir euch für den Walk in den Dschungel zu den Schimpansen:
• Lange Kleidung
• Lange Socken (die Hose in die Socken stecken)
• Mückenspray
• Wasser
• Regenjacke (da es im Rainforest immer wieder mal regnen kann)
• Fotoequipment
• Wanderschuhe
• Trinkgeld (für den Guide)

Uganda Safari
Safari Uganda

Nach etwa 20 Minuten Wandern durch den feuchten Dschungel haben wir die ersten Schimpansen gehört. Ihr Kreischen hallt wirklich durch den ganzen Urwald. Bald darauf haben wir auch den ersten Primaten in den Baumkronen erspäht. Nach einigen Minuten ist er tatsächlich von seinem Baum runter auf die Boden gekommen. In einem ordentlichen Tempo ist er durch den Dschungel marschiert. Wir natürlich in gebührendem Abstand hinterher. Plötzlich standen wir mitten in der Schimpansen-Familie und wurden von allen Seiten argwöhnisch beäugt. Was für ein cooles Erlebnis.

Es ist essentiell immer einen gewissen Respektsabstand zu halten und die Verhaltensregeln zu befolgen. Aber Achtung, manchmal hilft ein Sicherheitsabstand auch nicht gegen verrückte Schimpansen, die zeigen wollen, wie stark sie sind. Die Affen werfen mit Stöcken und reißen Bäume aus. Sie veranstalten einen riesen Zirkus, um uns zu zeigen, dass wir hier nur Gäste sind. In unserer Gruppe wurde jemand von einem Schimpansen mit einem Holzstock geschlagen. Echt verrückt diese Kerle.

Der Kibale Forest Nationalpark ist wirklich der außergewöhnlichste der von uns besuchten Uganda Nationalparks, denn die Schimpansen ziehen einen wirklich in den Bann.

♦♦♦♦

Queen Elizabeth Nationalpark - Uganda Nationalparks

Dieser Nationalpark Ugandas ist bekannt für seine auf Bäume kletternden Löwen. Leider hatten wir hier nicht so viel Glück wie in den anderen Parks und haben kaum Wildlife gesehen, sodass es für uns der unspektakulärste Park war.

Eine Safari in Uganda hat natürlich immer damit zu tun, zum richtigen Zeitpunkt am richtigen Ort zu sein und dieses Glück hatten wir im QE leider nicht. Dafür war unsere Unterkunft die spektakulärste auf der  ganzen Uganda Safari.

*Update: Im Queen Elizabeth Nationalpark kam es Anfang 2019 zu einer Entführung einer Safari-Touristin und ihres Guides durch Rebellen aus dem benachbarten Kongo. Beide wurden nach Zahlung eines Lösegeldes wieder unversehrt freigelassen. So konnte man es zumindest den Medien entnehmen.

Queen Elizabeth Nationalpark, Uganda
Queen Elizabeth Nationalpark
Game Drive

Neben herkömmlichen Game Drives gibt es auch die Möglichkeit den Queen Elizabeth Nationalpark bei einer Bootsfahrt auf dem Kazinga Channel zu erkunden. Der Channel verbindet Lake Edward (der größere Teil dieses Sees gehört zum Kongo, der kleinere zu Uganda) und Lake George. Vom Boot aus könnt ihr zahlreiche Tiere wie Elefanten, Hippos, Büffel und wenn ihr Glück habt sogar Löwen beobachten.

Kleiner Tipp: Der Bootstrip soll vor allem in der Trockenzeit ein Highlight der Uganda Safari sein.

Uganda Safari
Büffel am Ufer

♦♦♦♦

Bwindi Impenetrable Forest - Uganda Nationalparks

Der mystische Bwindi Impenetrable Forest ist einer der letzten Orte der Erde, an dem die legendären Berggorillas leben und damit auch das Highlights unserer Uganda Nationalparks.

Baby Gorilla

Für das Gorilla Trekking ist ein Permit notwendig, welches lange vor der Uganda Safari beantragt werden muss. Das Permit ist mit $600 nicht ganz billig.

Der Bwindi Nationalpark ist in die vier Bereiche Buhoma, Ruhija, Nkuringo und Rushaga unterteilt. Den Bereich müsst ihr bereits bei der Permitbuchung mitangeben.
Pro Tag dürfen maximal 72 Personen am Gorilla Trekking teilnehmen. Mehr als acht Personen pro Gruppe sind auch nicht erlaubt. Damit will die Parkverwaltung verhindern, dass die Gorillas im südlichsten Nationalpark Ugandas zu stark beeinträchtigt werden.

Bereits am frühen Morgen, wenn die Besucher noch schlafen, starten Tracker mit der Spurensuche und spüren die Gorilla-Familien auf. Wenn die Besucher eintreffen, führen die Tracker die Guides per Funk zu den Gorillas. Je nach Aufenthaltsort der Primaten kann die Wanderung zwischen 5 Minuten und mehreren Stunden dauern. Nach einem informativen Briefing startet der absolute Höhepunkt einer jeden Uganda Safari. In kleinen Gruppen geht es durch schweres Gelände im Regenwald. Die Guides und bewaffneten Ranger versorgen ihre Gäste mit ausführlichen Informationen zur Gorilla-Familie und deren sozialem Gefüge. Hier im dichten Dschungel gibt es keine Wege oder Trampelpfade. Es geht mit der Machete durchs Dickicht des Regenwalds.

Gorilla Guide

Bereits vor der Wanderung, könnt ihr euch einen Träger buchen, der Rucksäcke trägt oder bei der Wanderung unterstützt.

Folgende Kleidung und Ausrüstung hat sich bei uns bewährt.
• Lange Kleidung
• Lange Socken (die Hose in die Socken stecken)
• Mückenspray
• Wasser
• Regenjacke (da es im Rainforest immer wieder mal regnet)
• Wanderschuhe
• Lunchpaket (da man nie weiß, wie lang das Trekking dauert)
• Trinkgeld (für Guide, Ranger und Tracker)

Vacaymood
Queen Elizabeth Nationalpark

Wir haben unsere Gorilla Familie nach etwa einer Stunde Wandern gefunden. Die Gorillas saßen an einem Hang im Gebüsch. Das war wirklich eine wunderschöne Erfahrung. Die Gorillas kommen wirklich ganz nahe heran und es hat uns wirklich verzaubert Ihnen bei ihrem Sozialleben über die Schulter schauen zu dürfen. Insgesamt waren wir inklusive Wanderung und Brotzeit im Dschungel ungefähr vier Stunden unterwegs und kamen total dreckig aber überglücklich wieder am Ausgangspunkt an. Das Gorilla-Trekking im Bwindi Impenetrable Forest war das spektakuläre Highlight unserer Uganda Safari.

Bwindi Impenetrable Forest
Uganda Safari

Im Bwindi Impenetrable Forest sollte warme Kleidung immer im Gepäck sein. In der Nacht kann es richtig kalt werden. Die Camps sind gut darauf vorbereitet und bieten Kaminfeuer, Wärmflaschen (Bush-Babies), Tee und so weiter an, aber unterschätzt die Temperaturen dort oben auf dem Hochplateau nicht. Das Thermometer fällt nachts auch mal unter fünf Grad.

♦♦♦♦