From Athens by ferry to the Cyclades islands

Who doesn't know the Acropolis of Athens from television or school lessons? We usually prefer nature to the city and rarely take city breaks. But for some historically important cities, we like to make an exception. Feel free to read our experiences from Rome. But this is about our three-week trip through Greece. We booked a flight from Munich to Athens and visited the Greek capital right at the beginning of the trip. From the port of Athens – Piraeus – there are excellent and reliable connections by ferry to the islands of the Cyclades, which we then used for our island hopping on the Cyclades. The ferry is one of the most important means of transport in the country for Greece – as an island state. Athens is the starting point for ferry traffic to the islands of the Cyclades such as Mykonos, Santorini, Paros, Naxos, Tinos, Milos, and many more.

Arrival to Athens

From Germany you travel to Athens in the vast majority of cases probably by plane. Depending on where in Germany you are departing from, the flight to Eleftherios Venizelos International Airport in Athens takes a little more or less than two hours. The Athens airport is located east of the city, so from there you can either take a taxi to the city (about 25 €), the bus, Uber or the metro. The journey by car to the center takes about 45 minutes. The metro to the center costs 9€ and takes about 45 minutes.
Of course, you can also reach Athens by car via the Balkans or by car ferry from Italy. We have not yet had any experience with this.

Accommodation in Athens

We had chosen a hotel in the center of Athens – close to the famous Acropolis. For this we have chosen the district Psyrri.

Psyrri is considered the nightlife district of Athens with many bars, taverns and restaurants. Psysrri is very centrally located and is within walking distance of Monastiraki Square at the foot of the Acropolis. Here is also the beginning of the pedestrian zone with many great shops and cafes, restaurants and bars.
We had the best time at Ivis4 Boutique Hotel gewohnt, das uns sehr gut gefallen hat.

Food in Athens

As everywhere else, the restaurants in Athens near the major sights are significantly more expensive than off the beaten track. In order to compare the restaurant prices at a glance, we have invented the Tsatsiki index for us here. In the menus, Tsatsiki is always on the first page among the appetizers or cold appetizers and can therefore be found quickly without much leafing and every Greek tavern has Tsatsiki in the program. So we were able to quickly find out whether the restaurant is priced in our desired range. Of course, the portion sizes also vary, but the Tsatsiki index is only an indication and does not claim to be infallible. So far, the Tsatsiki index has never let us down. We had price ranges from €2.80 to €7.00.
Especially on weekends you should better book in the Athens restaurants, because then it gets really crowded.
In restaurants with a view, it is also common that guests who also eat food are allowed to take a seat in the first row and guests who only take cool drinks are transported to the second row.

Food tour in Athens

The best way to explore Athens culinarily before taking the ferry to one of the Cycladic islands is definitely a food tour with Athenian Tours [ad].

Our guide Tassos introduced us to the traditional food of the capital in a tour from 10:00 to 14:00. After meeting at the Syntagma metro station, we set off on an informative and above all fun tour with Tassos, who first took us to an artisan bakery where we could taste various traditional pastries with sweet or savoury fillings. I (Dominik) preferred the savoury version with spinach and cheese and Kathrin the sweetness with Sweet Cream.
Next, we got extremely tasty sesame rings – koulorades – at a street sale.

Afterwards, Tassos introduced us to the Greek coffee culture. We got strong mocha in a small copper carafe heated in hot sand.

At noon there were Greek specialties from the Attica region such as ham, salami, cheese, dried fruits, homemade chutney and tsipouro schnapps in the backyard of a specialty shop. So far, every single stop has convinced us that Greece has a lot to offer in culinary terms.

For dessert we had fresh sweet fruits from the market. Afterwards we strolled through the fish and meat market and admired the hustle and bustle. Afterwards we were able to taste different varieties of olives and were very surprised by the variety of tastes.

At the spice market came our highlight: caramelized peanuts with sesame and roasted pistachios, as you have never eaten them before.

At the end of the day there were souvlaki in the Pita and Loukoumades. Fully eaten and satisfied, we had to take a small nap in the hotel afterwards. Tassos was a great guide who showed us much more than just Greek food. We learned about the history of Athens and got a few insider tips on how to get them only from locals.

Acropolis Tour in Athens

We did a second tour with Athenian Tours – the big Acropolis tour with Alexia. This tour also takes about four hours and is super insightful and exciting.
It is simply incomprehensible what achievements were achieved here in Athens more than two millennia ago. You really feel transported to this time when Alexia tells like this. 

Finally, we go to the Acropolis Museum. This modern building is the most beautiful museum I have ever seen. A perfect combination of modern architectural style and preservation of historical elegance. Large stained glass windows allow a breathtaking view of the Acropolis. Really a great end to the successful tour.

In any case, remember to take a headgear with you, because the sun burns mercilessly in the summer and there is little shade on the most famous hill of the city. Comfortable shoes and water are also essential. On the Acropolis there is twice the possibility to refill drinking water. So take a bottle with you.

Getting around Athens

We mostly moved around Athens on foot. If the location of the property allows, we are happy to do soak up more of the city and its flair.
Otherwise, you have the opportunity to fall back on the well-known Hop on Hop off buses. There are various providers and the tickets are usually valid for two days. Athens also has a good metro network and the tickets are very cheap. The metro from the center (Monastiraki) to the port to Piraeus costs 1.20€ and takes about 20 minutes. Taxis are also a comfortable and reasonably cheap way to get around Athens. From the center to the port in Piraeus we paid 15€, which was significantly cheaper than with a transfer arranged by the hotel.

Island hopping: by ferry from Athens to the Cylcades

In addition to its extraordinary role as the spiritual center of antiquity and cosmopolitan city of the present, Athens is the starting point for all ferry traffic to the Greek islands. If you want to go to the Cyclades, the islands in the Ionian Sea, the Aegean Sea, the islands of the Dodecanese, the Sporades or other destinations on the mainland, the ferry is the most convenient and cheapest means of transport. In addition to the large ferries, there are also some providers of express ferries, which are usually much faster but also more expensive. So far, we have mostly travelled with the ships of Blue Star Ferries and have always been very satisfied. Especially the large car ferries are very stable in the water, so that you can enjoy your trip to the Greek islands without nausea even with a little more swell. Since in the Greek summer the sea is usually calm and the sun is shining, we recommend looking for a place on the large decks outside the stern.
Basically, there are three categories on board the ships. If you book Economy, you will look for a free place in the Economy area. Secure a seat quickly, otherwise you have to make do with the ground when the ship is fully booked. Then there is the Airseats category. These are large upholstered seats like in an airplane – only more comfortable and wider with more distance, which are assigned to you by seat number. Here the seat is also safe for you. The highest category is Business Class. For longer trips overnight, you can also book a sleeping cabin. We have not yet tested either Business Class or Cabins. On the ships you will also find several coffee and snack bars, as well as a restaurant. The coffee is excellent.

Ferry from Athens – Piraeus to Santorini, Mykonos, Paros, Naxos and Tinos

There are three ferry ports around Athens: the largest and most frequented port of Athens is Piraeus. Piraeus is relatively close to the center of Athens and can be reached by metro in about 20 minutes for 1.20€. From the port of Piraeus, ferries depart for all Greek islands. Usually the ferries rattle off several islands one after the other and then drive back the same route. The Blue Star ship "Naxos", for example, had the daily route Piraeus – Paros – Naxos – Santorini – Naxos – Paros – Piraeus in the summer of 2021. Of course you can also take the ferry from Athens – Piraeus to Mykonos via Syros and Tinos. The journey takes around four hours. The ferry from Athens to Santorini starts as mentioned in Piraeus and calls at Paros and Naxos before reaching Santorini. The ferry to Santorini takes a good six hours.

Ferry from Athens – Rafina to the Greek Islands

Also from the port in Athens – Rafina you can take the ferry to the popular islands of the Cyclades such as Mykonos, Paros, Naxos or Paros. You can also reach Tinos, Andros or the more distant islands such as Crete, Rhodes or Kos in the Dodecanese region by ferry from Rafina. Of course, availability varies depending on the season. Even though rafina ferry port is much further from the center of Athens than Piraeus, Rafina may be the better choice in many cases. With a 30-minute drive from the International Airport and proximity to the northern Cycladic islands such as Tinos, Rafina is a good place to do so.

Ferry from Athens – Lavrio to the Greek Islands

Lavrio is located far south of the Attica Peninsula – about 40 kilometers from Athens airport and about 60 kilometers from the city center. From Lavrio, ferries prefer to go to Kea, Kythnos, Serifos and Sifnos. But you can also easily reach other smaller islands from Lavrio.

Conclusion

For us, Athens with its lively city center and with its outstanding historical significance was an absolute highlight of our Greece trip. Also as a starting point for island hopping to the islands of the Cyclades, such as Paros, Naxos, Mykonos, Santorini, a city trip to Athens is perfect.

Other posts you may be interested in:

mountains, enjoyment, nature

view, villa, luxury

mountains, enjoyment, nature

beach, relaxing, sightseeing

nature, culture, adventure

hiking, biking, skiing

history, city, enjoyment

volcano, beach, wine

road trip, city trip, beach
time, costs, plan

Von Athen mit der Fähre auf die Kykladeninseln

Wer kennt die Akropolis von Athen nicht aus dem Fernsehen oder Schulunterricht? Wir ziehen ja normalerweise die Natur der Stadt vor und machen nur selten Städtereisen. Doch für manche historisch bedeutende Städte machen wir da gern mal eine Ausnahme. Lest dazu gerne auch mal unsere Erfahrungen aus Rom. Doch hier soll es um unsere drei-wöchige Reise durch Griechenland gehen. Dabei haben wir einen Flug von München nach Athen gebucht und haben gleich zu Beginn der Reise die griechische Hauptstadt besucht. Vom Hafen von Athen – Piräus – gibt es ausgezeichnete und zuverlässige Verbindungen mit der Fähre auf die Inseln der Kykladen, die wir dann für unser Inselhopping auf den Kykladen genutzt haben. Die Fähre ist für Griechenland – als Inselstaat – eines der wichtigsten Verkehrsmittel im Land. Athen ist der Ausgangspunkt für den Fährverkehr zu den Inseln der Kykladen wie Mykonos, Santorini, Paros, Naxos, Tinos, Milos, uvm.

Anreise nach Athen

Von Deutschland reist ihr nach Athen in den allermeisten Fällen vermutlich mit dem Flugzeug an. Je nachdem von wo in Deutschland ihr abfliegt, dauert der Flug zum internationalen Flughafen Eleftherios Venizelos in Athen etwas mehr oder weniger als zwei Stunden. Der Athener Flughafen befindet sich östlich der Stadt, sodass ihr von dort entweder ein Taxi in die Stadt (ca. 25 €), den Bus, Uber oder die Metro nehmt. Die Fahrt mit dem Auto ins Zentrum dauert etwa 45 Minuten. Die U-Bahn ins Zentrum kostet 9€ und dauert etwa 45 Minuten.
Natürlich erreicht ihr Athen auch mit dem eigenen PKW über den Balkan oder mit der Autofähre aus Italien. Dazu haben wir noch keine Erfahrungen gemacht.

Unterkunft in Athen

Wir hatten ein Hotel im Zentrum Athens – nahe der berühmten Akropolis gewählt. Dazu haben wir uns den Stadtteil Psyrri ausgesucht.

Psyrri gilt als das Ausgehviertel von Athen mit vielen Bars, Tavernen und Restaurants. Psysrri liegt sehr zentral und liegt nur wenige Gehminuten vom Monastiraki Platz am Fuße der Akropolis entfernt. Hier befindet sich auch der Anfang der Fussgängerzone mit vielen tollen Einkaufsmöglichkeiten und Cafés, Restaurants und Bars.
Wir haben im Ivis4 Boutique Hotel gewohnt, das uns sehr gut gefallen hat.

Essen in Athen

Wie überall sind die Restaurants auch in Athen in der Nähe der großen Sehenswürdigkeiten deutlich teurer als abseits. Um die Restaurantpreise auf einen Blick zu vergleichen, haben wir hier für uns den Tsatsiki-Index erfunden. In den Speisekarten steht Tsatsiki immer auf der ersten Seite unter den Appetizer bzw. kalten Vorspeisen und ist damit ohne viel Blättern schnell zu finden und jede griechische Taverne hat Tsatsiki im Programm. So konnten wir schnell herausfinden, ob das Restaurant preislich in unserem gewünschten Bereich liegt. Natürlich variieren auch die Portionsgrößen, aber der Tsatsiki-Index ist ja auch nur ein Anhaltspunkt und beansprucht nicht, unfehlbar zu sein. Bisher hat uns der Tsatsiki-Index nie im Stich gelassen. Wir hatten Preisspannen von 2,80 bis 7,00 €.
Vor allem am Wochenende solltet ihr in den Athener Restaurants besser reservieren, denn dann wird’s richtig voll.
In Restaurants mit Ausblick ist es auch üblich, dass Gäste, die auch Essen zu sich nehmen in der ersten Reihe Platz nehmen dürfen und Gäste, die nur kühle Drinks nehmen in die zweite Reihe verfrachtet werden.

Food Tour in Athen

Der beste Weg Athen kulinarisch zu erkunden, bevor ihr die Fähre auf eine der Kykladeninseln nehmt, ist aber definitiv eine Foodtour mit Athenian Tours [anzeige].

Unser Guide Tassos hat uns die traditionellen Speisen der Hauptstadt in einer Tour von 10:00 bis 14:00 Uhr nähergebracht. Nachdem wir uns an der U-Bahnstation Syntagma getroffen haben, ging es los auf eine informative und vor allem lustige Tour mit Tassos, der uns zuerst in eine handwerkliche Bäckerei führte, wo wir verschiedenes traditionelles Gebäck mit süßen oder herzhaften Füllungen probieren konnten. Ich (Dominik) bevorzugte die herzhafte Variante mit Spinat und Käse und Kathrin die Süße mit Sweet Cream.
Als nächstes haben wir an einem Straßenverkauf äußerst leckere Sesamkringel – Koulorades – bekommen.

Anschließend führte uns Tassos in die griechische Kaffee-Kultur ein. Wir bekamen starken Mokka in einer kleinen Kupferkaraffe, die in heißem Sand erhitzt wird.

Mittags gab es dann im Hinterhof eines Spezialitätenladens griechische Spezialitäten aus der Attika-Region wie Schinken, Salami, Käse, Trockenfrüchte, selbstgemachtes Chutney und Tsipouro-Schnaps. Bisher hat uns jeder einzige Stopp davon überzeugt, dass Griechenland kulinarisch so einiges zu bieten hat.

Zum Dessert hatten wir frische süße Früchte vom Markt. Anschließend schlenderten wir über den Fisch- und Fleischmarkt und bewunderten das bunte Treiben. Danach konnten wir verschiedene Olivensorten kosten und waren von der Geschmacksvielfalt sehr überrascht.

Am Gewürzmarkt kam dann unser Highlight: Karamellisierte Erdnüsse mit Sesam und geröstete Pistazien, wie man sie noch nie gegessen hat.

Zum Abschluss des Tages gab es dann Souvlaki in der Pita und Loukoumades. Vollgefressen und zufrieden, mussten wir danach erstmal ein kleines Mittagsschläfchen im Hotel einlegen. Tassos war ein klasse Guide, der uns viel mehr als nur griechisches Essen gezeigt hat. Wir haben über die Geschichte Athens gelernt und bekamen ein paar Geheimtipps, wie man sie nur von Einheimischen bekommt.

Akropolis Tour in Athen

Wir haben mit Athenian Tours noch eine zweite Tour gemacht – die große Akropolis-Tour mit Alexia. Auch diese Tour dauert etwa vier Stunden und ist super aufschlussreich und spannend.
Es ist einfach unfassbar, welche Leistungen vor mehr als zwei Jahrtausenden hier in Athen vollbracht wurden. Man fühlt sich richtig in diese Zeit versetzt, wenn Alexia so erzählt. 

Zum Abschluss geht’s noch ins Akropolis-Museum. Dieser moderne Bau ist das schönste Museum, das ich jemals gesehen habe. Eine perfekte Verbindung von modernem Baustil und Wahrung der historischen Eleganz. Große Glasfenster lassen einen atemberaubenden Blick auf die Akropolis zu. Wirklich ein super Abschluss der gelungenen Tour.

Denkt auf jeden Fall daran eine Kopfbedeckung mitzunehmen, denn die Sonne brennt im Sommer erbarmungslos und es gibt nur wenig Schatten auf dem berühmtesten Hügel der Stadt. Auch bequeme Schuhe und Wasser sind essentiell. Auf der Akropolis gibt es zweimal die Möglichkeit Trinkwasser aufzufüllen. Nehmt euch also eine Flasche mit.

Unterwegs in Athen

Wir haben uns in Athen meistens zu Fuß fortbewegt. Wenn es die Lage der Unterkunft zulässt, machen wir das gerne, um mehr von der Stadt und ihrem Flair aufzusaugen.
Ansonsten habt ihr hier die Möglichkeit auf die bekannten Hop on Hop off Busse zurückgreifen. Es gibt diverse Anbieter und die Tickets gelten meistens zwei Tage. Athen verfügt auch über ein gutes Metro-Netz und die Tickets sind sehr günstig. Die Metro vom Zentrum (Monastiraki) zum Hafen nach Piräus kostet 1,20€ und dauert etwa 20 Minuten. Auch Taxis sind eine komfortable und einigermaßen günstige Methode, um sich in Athen fortzubewegen. Vom Zentrum zum Hafen in Piräus haben wir 15€ bezahlt, was deutlich günstiger war als mit einem vom Hotel arrangierten Transfer.

Mit der Fähre von Athen auf die Kykladen zum Inselhopping

Neben seiner außergewöhnlichen Rolle als geistiges Zentrum der Antike und Weltstadt der Gegenwart, ist Athen der Ausgangspunkt für den kompletten Fährverkehr auf die griechischen Inseln. Wenn ihr die Kykladen, die Inseln im Ionischen Meer, die Ägäis, die Inseln der Dodekanes, die Sporaden oder auch andere Ziele am Festland ansteuern wollt, ist die Fähre das bequemste und günstigste Transportmittel. Neben den großen Fähren gibt es noch einige Anbieter von Expressfähren, die meistens deutlich schneller aber auch teurer sind. Wir sind bisher meist mit den Schiffen von Blue Star Ferries gereist und waren immer sehr zufrieden. Vor allem die großen Autofähren liegen sehr stabil im Wasser, sodass ihr auch bei etwas mehr Seegang ohne Übelkeit eure Reise auf die griechischen Inseln genießen könnt. Da im griechischen Sommer das Meer meist ruhig ist und die Sonne scheint, empfehlen wir einen Platz auf den großen Decks im Außenbereich des Hecks zu suchen.
Grundsätzlich gibt es drei Kategorien an Bord der Schiffe. Wenn ihr Economy bucht, sucht ihr euch einen freien Platz im Economy-Bereich. Sichert euch schnell einen Sitzplatz, sonst müsst ihr mit dem Boden Vorlieb nehmen, wenn das Schiff ausgebucht ist. Dann gibt es noch die Kategorie Airseats. Das sind große gepolsterte Sitze wie im Flugzeug – nur bequemer und breiter mit mehr Abstand, die euch per Sitznummer zugewiesen werden. Hier ist euch der Sitz auch sicher. Die höchste Kategorie ist die Business Class. Bei längeren Fahrten über Nacht könnt ihr auch eine Schlafkabine dazu buchen. Weder Business Class noch Cabins haben wir bisher getestet. Auf den Schiffen findet ihr auch mehrere Kaffee- und Snackbars, sowie ein Restaurant. Der Kaffee ist ausgezeichnet.

Fähre von Athen – Piräus nach Santorini, Mykonos, Paros, Naxos und Tinos

In der Umgebung von Athen gibt es drei Fährhafen: Der größte und meist frequentierte Hafen von Athen ist Piräus. Piräus liegt relativ nah am Zentrum von Athen und ist mit der Metro in etwa 20 Minuten für 1,20€ erreichbar. Vom Hafen Piräus aus fahren Fähren auf alle griechischen Inseln. Meist klappern die Fähren mehrere Inseln nacheinander ab und fahren dann die gleiche Route wieder zurück. Das Blue Star Schiff „Naxos“ zum Beispiel hatte im Sommer 2021 die tägliche Route Piräus – Paros – Naxos – Santorini – Naxos – Paros – Piräus. Natürlich kommt ihr mit der Fähre von Athen – Piräus auch nach Mykonos über Syros und Tinos. Die Fahrt dauert um die vier Stunden. Die Fähre von Athen nach Santorini startet wie erwähnt in Piräus und läuft Paros und Naxos an bevor sie Santorini erreicht. Die Fähre nach Santorini dauert gute sechs Stunden.

Fähre von Athen – Rafina zu den griechischen Inseln

Auch vom Hafen in Athen – Rafina gelangt ihr mit der Fähre auf die beliebten Inseln der Kykladen wie Mykonos, Paros, Naxos oder Paros. Auch Tinos, Andros oder die weiter entfernten Inseln wie Kreta, Rhodos oder Kos in der Dodekanes-Region erreicht ihr mit der Fähre von Rafina. Natürlich variieren die Verfügbarkeiten je nach Saison. Auch wenn der Fährhafen Rafina deutlich weiter vom Zentrum Athens entfernt liegt als Piräus, kann Rafina in vielen Fällen die bessere Wahl sein. Mit 30 Minuten Fahrzeit vom Internationalen Flughafen und der Nähe zu den nördlichen Kykladeninseln wie Tinos, bietet sich Rafina dafür an.

Fähre von Athen – Lavrio zu den griechischen Inseln

Lavrio liegt weit im Süden der Attika-Halbinsel – etwa 40 Kilometer vom Athener Flughafen und ungefähr 60 Kilometer vom Stadtzentrum entfernt. Von Lavrio fahren die Fähren bevorzugt nach Kea, Kythnos, Serifos und Sifnos. Aber auch andere kleinere Inseln könnt ihr von Lavrio gut erreichen.

Fazit

Für uns war Athen mit seiner lebhaften Innenstadt und mit seiner herausragenden historischen Bedeutung ein absolutes Highlight unserer Griechenland Reise. Auch als Ausgangspunkt für Inselhopping auf die Inseln der Kykladen, wie Paros, Naxos, Mykonos, Santorini bietet sich ein Städtetrip nach Athen perfekt an.

Weitere Beiträge, die dich interessieren könnten:

Berge, Genuss, Natur

Aussicht, Villa, Luxus

Berge, Genuss, Natur

Strand, Erholung, Sightseeing

Natur, Kultur, Abenteuer

Wandern, Biken, Skifahren

Geschichte, Stadt, Genuss

Vulkan, Strand, Wein

Road Trip, Städtereise, Strand
Zeit, Kosten, Plan