De Hoop Nature Reserve

De Hoop Nature Reserve

A true natural paradise

The Morukuru Beach Lodge in the De Hoop Nature Reserve

The Morukuru Beach Lodge [ad] in the De Hoop Nature Reserve is one of the most idyllic accommodations in Africa. Located between huge snow-white sand dunes on the turquoise Indian Ocean near the starting point of the legendary Garden Route. Dolphins and seals in the sea, zebras and flamingos on land and you even have the chance of a leopard, if you´re lucky.

Getting there

If you are arriving from Cape Town or Stellenbosch, you should choose the route via Bredarsdorp. The journey takes a good two hours to Bredarsdorp. From here, allow another hour by car. Depending on the route section, you can drive 60 to 80 kilometers per hour on the gravel track. The closer you get to the De Hoop Nature Reserve, the rougher the road gets. De Hoop Nature Reserve requires a maximum speed of 40 km/h. This certainly makes sense, as there are some animals that love to use the road as well.
If you are arriving from the other direction, you should turn onto the gravel road at Swellendam. From here it is another 90 minutes to Morukuru Beach Lodge.

At the park entrance, there is a gate and a registration. If you stay at Morukuru Beach Lodge, you don't have to pay anything. Otherwise a small fee is due.

When you have arrived at the gate, call the Beach Lodge or write a WhatsApp to let them know that you´re about to arrive.

The gravel roads are easy to do even with a small car. A car with a little more ground clearance makes it easier and more fun.

If you prefer a more exclusive journey, you can also travel to the De Hoop Nature Reserve by helicopter or small 9-seater aircraft.

Location of Morukuru Beach Lodge in De Hoop Nature Reserve

Morukuru Beach Lodge is located in the De Hoop Nature Reserve. The location is truly incredible - nestled between white sand dunes and the deep blue coastal waters of the Indian Ocean.

The nearest major cities are Hermanus, Cape Agulhas, Bredersdorp or Swellendam. De Hoop Nature Reserve is a national park on the southern coast of South Africa at the starting point of the Garden Route. It is really unique and remote here. The number of visitors in De Hoop Nature Reserve really is still low. This place is really very special.

Equipment & design

In addition to the unique location, the design of the Morukuru Beach Lodge is truly amazing. Wood and stone are the dominant materials of Morukuru Beach Lodge, which embeds perfectly in the surrounding environment. Large glass fronts on all sides give the guest the feeling of sitting outside on a dune and watching the waves of the Indian Ocean as they meet the rough coastline.
The public areas of Morukuru Beach Lodge are beautifully designed and equipped. In the center of the Beach Lodge, there is an inner courtyard that is open to the sky. A small pool and a heated jacuzzi are ready to use for you. Enjoy your dinner outside when the temperatures are comfortable. Two wood-fired fireplaces create a cozy atmosphere on the pool terrace. On a cool night, have your dinner indoors and enjoy the view towards the sea.
On the upper floor is a small bar, a huge sofa and a ping pong table. The perfect place for a good drink.
We have found cozy seating areas and new design highlights around every corner - great vases with Protea flowers, inspiring pictures and little gimmicks like the toothpick dispenser.

Morukuru Beach Lodge has five suites - four of them with oceanview.

The rooms are very spacious, bright and offer a great view of the sea. They also have large floor-to-ceiling windows and a large sofa in the bay window. My favorite place. A small balcony with a view of the sea invites you to a cozy chat outdoors. At the end of the large and cozy king-size bed there is a retractable flat screen TV.

The bathroom is separated from the living and sleeping area by large sliding doors. A separate toilet offers privacy. Generous double sinks with great mirrors and sufficient storage space make women's hearts beat faster. But above all, the shower integrated in the room is simply brilliant. A roof window above the rainwater shower will give you the feeling of taking a shower outdoors. Simply outstanding. I want that for our home.

In the bathroom, you will find wonderful bath articles like shampoo, shower gel and body lotion containing the herbs and plants of the local fynbos vegetation that care for the skin and protect against mosquito bites.

While you are having dinner, the staff prepares the turn-down service in your room. The bed is made again, water on the bedside table, the night slippers are in front of the bed and on your pillow, you will find a small candy.

In front of the rooms there are fridges with cold drinks, coffee, tea and cookies. A bookcase with a large selection of reading material is waiting for you.

The booking at the Morukuru Beach Lodge comes with all-inclusive. Some very rare top wines are not included, all other alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages and all meals are included.

It is also worth mentioning that the entire electricity used in the hotel is generated from photovoltaics. The impact on the environment is kept to a minimum.

Activities at Morukuru Beach Lodge

You won't get bored at Morukuru Beach Lodge. There are two guided activities a day, that we absolutely recommend to you. The activities are always announced the evening before on the large board in the entrance area, including start time. All activities are carried out by Corné - manager and guide of Morukuru Beach Lodge. Corné focuses on the interests of the guests and the number of nights they stay. If you talk to Corné, you can also influence the planning of the activities.

Dunes Tour

On this tour, you´ll go on a small tour with Corné through the dunes, where he's explaining to the origin and the movement of the dunes in an interesting way. Then it gets sporty, because you step on the sandboards. The boards are waxed and it goes steeply downhill for you. Either standing or sitting, you dash down the sand dune. It is so much fun and we couldn't get enough of it. Since the sandboards have no brakes, crashes are unavoidable and you have sand everywhere. At the end of this small tour through the dunes of the De Hoop Nature Reserve you'll have Gin & Tonic, wine and snacks at sunset. Incredibly impressive.

Nature Walk

The Nature Walk or Fynbos Walk, also carried out by Corné, leads through the local Fynbos vegetation. Fynbos consists of low, sometimes endemic shrub and bush plants, that have found their home on the dry dunes. Many of these plants have medicinal effects. It smells incredibly of herbs and many animals such as birds, antelopes or zebras have found a home here. Corné has an incredible knowledge of flora and fauna of the Fynbos and tells you vividly about life in this area.

Marine Walk

The Marine Walk is just as impressive as the Fynbos Walk. When the tide is low, Corné takes the guests on an exciting hike along the coast. Equipped with non-slip shoes, you wade over the rocks of the coast and look for marine life in the crystal-clear tidal pools. Corné spots a range of animals and explains exciting details about their life in the tidal zone. If you feel like, put your head under water in one of the tidal pools with mask and snorkel. These areas are separated from the open sea and also pleasantly warm due to the sun.

Nature Drive

Enjoy real Safari vibes during the Nature Drive. Corné drives you through De Hoop Nature Reserve in a Safari Jeep and tells interesting facts about the fynbos vegetation and bushfires that are vital for the vegetation.
Again and again you will find large herds of antelopes and zebras. Colorful birds, large ostriches, but also reptiles such as tortoises cross your path. There are also said to be leopards at De Hoop, but even Corné has never seen one. The reintroduction of cheetahs is also being examined. De Hoop is really a unique paradise.

Culinary

As mentioned earlier, a booking at Morukuru Beach Lodge at De Hoop Nature Reserve is associated with full board including drinks. The only exception known to us are the wine rarities.

Breakfast is served partly at the buffet and partly a la carte. At the buffet you will find delicious fruits, cereals, cakes, a good selection of cheese and sausages as well as juices and water. Bread and toast will be served at the table. Order egg variations and coffee specialties. The quality, freshness and taste is very good. We started every day strengthened and satisfied.

After your morning activity, you are just coming back in time for lunch and can enjoy the buffet. Fresh salads and a savaory dish are available. For dessert, there are cakes or other small sweet pastries. Taste was great.

After your afternoon activity, meet up for drinks and snacks like biltong at the bar upstairs.

Then you can freshen up.

For dinner, there are always three courses plus greetings from the kitchen and sorbet as an intermediate course.

For main course, choose from three options. There are two alternatives for starters and desserts. If you have special needs or preferences, just let them know - preferably before arrival - and the kitchen will be happy to take this into account.

We were very happy with the kitchen at Morukuru Beach Lodge. Staff is also very courteous and very interested in the guests. We loved chatting with them about the country and its people. Very sympathic.

Südafrika Top Hotel

Conclusion

Not only the staff in the restaurant area is very courteous, all other staff are also very friendly.
The general managers Louis and Trevor as well as the managers Kayleigh and Corné are incredible. The discussions were very exciting and we learned a lot about South Africa. The warmth, with which we were met here, is really unique.
The design and incredible location of Morukuru Beach Lodge in the heart of De Hoop Nature Reserve are awesome. We are already planning our return in August 2021, when the giant whales will give birth here.

Have a look to our short video about the surrounding area of Morukuru Beach Lodge..

Other posts you may be interested in:

Hotel Website

Website of Morukuru Beach Lodge.

Capetown travel tips

Cape Town is definitely our favorite city. How so? We'll tell you.

Hotel booking

Book your stay at Morukuru Beach Lodge.

Hotels in South Africa

Hotels with a unique location and excellent service.

South Africa travel tips

General information you need for your trip.

Packing list

Here you can download our packing list for your next trip to South Africa.
en_US
de_DE_formal en_US

De Hoop Nature Reserve

Die Morukuru Beach Lodge im De Hoop Nature Reserve

Die Morukuru Beach Lodge [anzeige] im De Hoop Nature Reserve ist unserer Meinung nach eine der idyllischsten Unterkünfte Afrikas. Einsam gelegen zwischen hohen schneeweißen Sanddünen am türkisblauen Indischen Ozean am Beginn der legendären Garden Route. Delfine und Robben im Meer, Zebras und Flamingos an Land und mit sehr viel Glück habt ihr sogar die Chance auf einen Leoparden.

Top Hotels Südafrika

Anreise

Wenn ihr von Kapstadt oder Stellenbosch aus anreist, dann solltet ihr die Route über Bredarsdorp wählen. Die Anreise dauert jeweils gute zwei Stunden nach Bredarsdorp. Von hier braucht ihr nochmal etwa eine gute Stunde mit dem Auto. Auf der Schotterpiste könnt ihr je nach Streckenabschnitt 60 bis 80 Kilometer pro Stunde fahren. Je näher ihr dem De Hoop Nature Reserve kommt, desto ruppiger wird die Straße. Im De Hoop Nature Reserve ist eine Maximalgeschwindigkeit von 40 km/h vorgeschrieben. Aufgrund der vielen Tiere, die gerne auch mal auf der Straße stehen, ist das sicher sinnvoll.
Wenn ihr aus der anderen Richtung kommt, dann solltet ihr bei Swellendam auf die Schotterpiste abbiegen. Von hier aus sind es nochmal etwa 90 Minuten zur Morukuru Beach Lodge.

Am Parkeingang befindet sich eine Schranke und eine Anmeldung. Wenn ihr in der Morukuru Beach Lodge übernachtet, müsst ihr nichts bezahlen. Ansonsten ist ein kleiner Obolus fällig.

Wenn ihr am Gate angekommen seid, dann ruft kurz bei der Beach Lodge an oder schreibt eine WhatsApp.

Die Schotterpisten sind auch mit einem kleinen normalen Auto leicht machbar. Ein Auto mit etwas mehr Bodenfreiheit schadet aber nicht und macht auch mehr Spaß.

Wenn ihr eine etwas exklusivere Anreise bevorzugt, dann könnt ihr auch mit dem Helikopter oder dem 9-Sitzer-Kleinflugzeug ins De Hoop Nature Reserve zur Morukuru Beach Lodge anreisen.

Top Hotels Südafrika

Lage der Morukuru Beach Lodge im De Hoop Nature Reserve

Die Morukuru Beach Lodge liegt im De Hoop Nature Reserve. Die Lage ist wirklich unbeschreiblich – eingebettet zwischen weißen Sanddünen und der tiefblauen Küste des Indischen Ozeans.

Die nächsten größeren Städte sind Hermanus, Cape Agulhas, Bredersdorp oder Swellendam. Beim De Hoop Nature Reserve handelt es sich um einen Nationalpark an der südlichen Küste Südafrikas am Beginn der Garden Route. Hier ist es wirklich einmalig idyllisch und einsam. Die Besucherzahlen im De Hoop Nature Reserve halten sich wirklich noch in Grenzen. Dieser Platz ist wirklich sehr besonders.

Top Hotels Südafrika

Ausstattung & Design

Neben der einmaligen Lage, ist vor allem das Design der Morukuru Beach Lodge hervorzuheben. Holz und Stein sind die dominanten Materialien der perfekt in die Umgebung eigebetteten Beach Lodge. Große Glasfronten an allen Seiten geben dem Gast das Gefühl im Freien auf einer Düne zu sitzen und den Wellen des Indischen Ozeans zuzusehen, wie sie auf die wunderschöne Küstenlinie treffen.
Top Hotels Südafrika
Top Hotels Südafrika
Die öffentlichen Bereiche der Morukuru Beach Lodge sind sehr überlegt designt und ausgestattet. Im Zentrum der Beach Lodge befindet sich ein Innenhof, der nach oben hin geöffnet ist. Hier befindet sich auch der kleine Pool und der beheizte Jacuzzi. Hier könnt ihr an einem warmen Abend auch das Dinner genießen. Zwei Holzkamine sorgen für gemütliche Stimmung auf der Poolterrasse. In einer kühlen Nacht könnt ihr natürlich auch drinnen essen. Dabei genießt ihr den Blick Richtung Meer.
De Hoop Nature Reserve, Garden Route, South Africa
De Hoop Nature Reserve, Garden Route, South Africa
Im Obergeschoss befindet sich eine kleine Bar, ein riesiges Sofa und eine Tischtennisplatte. Der perfekte Ort für einen guten Drink.
De Hoop Nature Reserve, Garden Route, South Africa
De Hoop Nature Reserve, Garden Route, South Africa
Hinter jeder Ecke haben wir gemütliche Sitzecken und neue Design-Highlights gefunden – tolle Vasen mit Protea-Blüten, inspirierende Bilder und kleine Gimmicks wie den Zahnstocher-Spender.
De Hoop Nature Reserve, Garden Route, South Africa
De Hoop Nature Reserve, Garden Route, South Africa
De Hoop Nature Reserve, Garden Route, South Africa

Die Morukuru Beach Lodge verfügt über fünf Suiten – vier davon mit Ocean View.

Die Zimmer sind sehr großzügig geschnitten, hell und bieten einen tollen Ausblick aufs Meer. Auch in den Zimmern gibt es große raumhohe Fensterfronten und ein großes Sofa im Erker. Mein Lieblingsplatz. Ein kleiner Balkon mit Blick Richtung Meer lädt zu einem gemütlichen Plausch im Freien ein. Am Fußende des großen gemütlichen King-Size-Bettes befindet sich ein versenkbarer Flatscreen-TV.

Top Hotels Südafrika
Top Hotels Südafrika

Das Badezimmer befindet sich im hinteren Teil des Zimmers. Große Schiebetüren trennen Schlafbereich vom Badezimmer ab. Eine separate Toilette bietet genug Privatsphäre. Großzügige Doppelwaschbecken mit tollen Spiegeln und ausreichend Ablage lassen die Frauenherzen höherschlagen. Vor allem aber die im Raum integrierte Dusche ist einfach genial. Ein Dachfester über der Rainwater-Dusche wird euch das Gefühl geben im Freien zu duschen. Einfach hervorragend. Das will ich auch für zuhause.

Top Hotels Südafrika
Top Hotels Südafrika
Im Badezimmer stehen euch wundervolle Bade-Artikel zur Verfügung. Shampoo, Duschgel und Bodylotion enthalten die Kräuter und Pflanzen der hier vorherrschenden Fynbos-Vegetation, die die Haut pflegen und vor Mückenstichen schützen.
Top Hotels Südafrika

Während ihr beim Dinner sitzt, bereitet das Personal in eurem Zimmer den Turn-Down-Service vor. Das Bett wird nochmal neu gemacht, Wasser steht auf dem Nachttisch, die Nachtschlappen stehen vor dem Bett und auf dem Kopfkissen findet ihr ein kleines Betthupferl.

Vor den Zimmern befinden sich Kühlschränke mit Kaltgetränken, Kaffee, Tee und Keksen. Auch ein Bücherregal mit einer großen Auswahl an Lesestoff wartet auf euch.

Die Buchung in der Morukuru Beach Lodge kommt mit All-Inclusive. Einige sehr seltene Spitzenweine sind nicht inkludiert, alle anderen alkoholischen und nicht-alkoholischen Getränke sowie alle Speisen bezahlt ihr nicht mehr extra.

Erwähnenswert ist auch noch, dass der komplette Strom, der im Hotel genutzt wird, aus Photovoltaik generiert wird. Der Einfluss auf die Umwelt wird also minimal gehalten.

De Hoop Nature Reserve, Garden Route, South Africa

Aktivitäten im De Hoop Nature Reserve

Langweilig wird euch in der Morukuru Beach Lodge sicherlich nicht. Jeden Tag werden zwei geführte Aktivitäten angeboten, die wir euch absolut ans Herz legen. Die Aktivitäten werden immer am Vorabend auf der großen Tafel im Eingangsbereich samt Startzeit angekündigt. Alle Aktivitäten werden von Corné – Manager und Guide der Morukuru Beach Lodge – durchgeführt. Corné orientiert sich dabei an den Interessen der Gäste sowie an der Anzahl der Nächte, die sie gebucht haben. Wenn ihr mit Corné redet könnt ihr auch etwas Einfluss auf die Planung der Aktivitäten nehmen.

Dünen Tour

Bei dieser Tour begebt ihr euch mit Corné auf eine kleine Tour durch die Dünen, bei der er euch auf interessante Art und Weise die Entstehung und Wanderung der Dünen näherbringt. Dann wird es sportlich, denn ihr steigt aufs Sandboard. Die Boards werden gewachst und es geht für euch steil bergab. Entweder stehend oder sitzend düst ihr die Sanddüne hinab. Das macht irrsinnig Spaß und wir haben nicht genug davon bekommen. Da die Sandboards keine Bremse haben sind Stürze nicht vermeidbar und ihr habt den Sand überall. Zum Abschluss dieser kleinen Tour durch die Dünen des De Hoop Nature Reserves gibt es Gin Tonic, Wein und Snacks zum Sonnenuntergang. Unglaublich beeindruckend.
Top Hotels Südafrika
De Hoop Nature Reserve, Garden Route, South Africa

Nature Walk

Der ebenfalls von Corné durchgeführte Nature Walk oder auch Fynbos Walk führt durch die hiesige Fynbos Vegetation. Fynbos besteht aus niedrigen zum Teil endemischen Strauch- und Buschpflanzen, die auf den trockenen Dünen Heimat gefunden haben. Viele dieser Pflanzen haben eine medizinische Wirkung. Es duftet herrlich nach Kräutern und viele Tiere, wie Vögel, Antilopen oder Zebras haben hier eine Heimat gefunden. Corné hat ein unglaubliches Wissen über die Flora und Fauna des Fynbos und erzählt lebendig vom Leben in diesem Gebiet.
Top Hotels Südafrika
Top Hotels Südafrika

Marine Walk

Der Marine Walk ist ähnlich beeindruckend wie der Fynbos Walk. Wenn die Ebbe weit fortgeschritten ist begeben sich die Teilnehmer mit Corné auf eine aufregende Wanderung entlang der Küste. Ausgerüstet mit rutschsicheren Schuhen watet ihr über die Felsen der Küste und sucht nach Leben in den glasklaren Gezeitenpools. Corné findet viele verschiedene Tiere und erklärt spannende Details über ihr Leben in der Gezeitenzone. Wer Lust hat, kann in einem der Gezeitenpools mit Maske und Schnorchel den Kopf auch mal unter Wasser stecken. Diese Bereiche sind vom offenen Meer abgegrenzt und durch die Sonne auch angenehm warm.
Top Hotels Südafrika
Top Hotels Südafrika

Nature Drive

Beim Nature Drive kommt richtig Safari-Feeling auf. In einem Safari Jeep fährt euch Corné durch das De Hoop Nature Reserve und erzählt Interessantes zur Fynbos-Vegetation und zu Buschfeuern, die für die Vegetation lebenswichtig sind.
Top Hotels Südafrika
Immer wieder werdet ihr große Ansammlungen von Antilopen und Zebras antreffen. Auch bunte Vögel, große Strauße, aber auch Reptilien wie Landschildkröten kreuzen euren Weg. Es soll auch Leoparden im De Hoop geben, aber selbst Corné hat noch keinen gesehen. Auch die Wiederansiedlung von Geparden wird geprüft. De Hoop ist wirklich ein einzigartiges Paradies.
Top Hotels Südafrika
Top Hotels Südafrika
Top Hotels Südafrika

Kulinarik

Wir bereits erwähnt, ist eine Buchung in der Morukuru Beach Lodge im De Hoop Nature Reserve mit Vollpension inklusive Getränke verbunden. Einzig uns bekannte Ausnahme sind die Wein-Raritäten.

Das Frühstück wird teils am Buffet und teils a la carte serviert. Am Buffet findet ihr leckere Früchte, Müsli, Kuchen, eine gute Auswahl an Käse und Wurst sowie Säfte und Wasser. Brot und Toast werden euch serviert. Dazu könnt ihr Eier-Variation und Kaffee-Spezialitäten bestellen. Die Qualität sowie Frische und Geschmack sind sehr gut. Wir sind jeden Morgen gestärkt und zufrieden in den Tag gestartet.

De Hoop Nature Reserve, Garden Route, South Africa
De Hoop Nature Reserve, Garden Route, South Africa
De Hoop Nature Reserve, Garden Route, South Africa
Nach der Morgen-Aktivität kommt ihr gerade Recht zum Lunch zurück und könnt euch am Buffet stärken. Knackige Salate sowie eine herzhafte Speise stehen zur Auswahl. Zum Nachtisch gibt es Kuchen oder andere kleine süße Gebäcke. Uns hat es immer hervorragend geschmeckt.
Top Hotels Südafrika
Top Hotels Südafrika
Top Hotels Südafrika

Nach der Nachmittags-Aktivität trifft man sich an der Bar im Obergeschoss zu Drinks und Snacks wie Biltong.

Anschließend könnt ihr euch frisch machen.

Zum Dinner gibt es immer drei Gänge sowie Gruß aus der Küche und Sorbet als Zwischengang.

Beim Hauptgang könnt ihr aus drei Optionen wählen. Bei Vor- und Nachspeise gibt es jeweils zwei Alternativen. Solltet ihr spezielle Bedürfnisse oder Vorlieben haben, gebt einfach – am besten vor der Anreise – Bescheid und die Küche berücksichtigt das gerne.

Insgesamt habt ihr bei den Essenszeiten alle Freiheiten, die ihr möchtet. Wir waren sehr zufrieden mit der Küche in der Morukuru Beach Lodge. Auch das Personal ist sehr zuvorkommend und auch sehr interessiert an den Gästen. Gerne sprechen Sie mit euch auch über Land und Leute. Sehr sympathisch.

De Hoop Nature Reserve, Garden Route, South Africa
De Hoop Nature Reserve, Garden Route, South Africa
De Hoop Nature Reserve, Garden Route, South Africa

Fazit zur Morukuru Beach Lodge im De Hoop Nature Reserve

Nicht nur das Personal im Restaurantbereich ist sehr zuvorkommend, auch alle anderen Mitarbeiter sind sehr freundlich.
Die General Manager Louis und Trevor sowie die Manager Kayleigh und Corné sind unglaublich. Die Gespräche waren sehr spannend und wir haben viel über Südafrika erfahren. Die Herzlichkeit, mit der uns hier begegnet wurde, ist wirklich einmalig.
Das Design und die unglaubliche Lage der Morukuru Beach Lodge im Herzen des De Hoop Nature Reserves sind eine Wucht. Wir planen schon unsere Rückkehr für August 2021, wenn die riesigen Wale hier ihre Jungen bekommen.

Schaut euch doch unser kurzes Video über die Umgebung der Morukuru Lodge an.

Top Hotels Südafrika

Weitere Beiträge, die dich interessieren könnten:

Inhaltsverzeichnis

Hotel Website

Website der Morukuru Beach Lodge.

Kapstadt Reisetipps

Kapstadt ist definitiv unsere Lieblingsstadt. Wieso? Wir verraten es dir.

Hotel Buchung

Buche deinen Aufenthalt in der Morukuru Beach Lodge.

Hotels in Südafrika

Hotels mit einmaliger Lage und ausgezeichnetem Service.

Südafrika Reisetipps

Allgemeine Informationen, die du für deine Reise benötigst.

Packliste

Hier findest du unsere Packliste zum Download für deine nächste Reise nach Südafrika.
de_DE_formal
de_DE_formal en_US