Malta Sightseeing and Holiday Tips

The country of Malta has been independent since 1964. In the past, the Maltese were repeatedly conquered and ruled by other rulers. In addition to Malta itself, the Malta archipelago also includes Gozo and Comino and other very small islands. As part of our Malta tour, we visited all three large islands.

Malta is predestined for a tour with a rental car. Little traffic, the highlights are close together and the roads are well maintained.

ARRIVAL, VISA AND EXIT - MALTA TRAVEL TIPS

Malta Luqa Airport is served directly by many German airports as well as Vienna and Zurich. But you come from most of the German airports with a maximum of one stop on the sunny Mediterranean island.

A visa is not necessary for EU citizens since Malta is also an EU country.

HEALTH PRECAUTIONS - MALTA TRAVEL TIPS

The standard vaccinations, which are also important in Germany, are recommended for Malta.

SIM CARD - MALTA TRAVEL TIPS

In Malta you can confidently use the German or Austrian SIM card since roaming fees were abolished. You don't need to buy a SIM card on site. If you have a SIM card from a non-EU country as standard, you should better inform your provider about any costs that may arise.

ON THE GO - MALTA TRAVEL TIPS

Public transport in Malta and Gozo

The bus system on Malta and Gozo is very well developed and perfect for a Malta tour.
Our Malta travel tip: You can reach most destinations on the islands really easily by bus.
Malta Public Transport even offers travelers 7-day tickets and other offers at affordable prices. If you don't have a rental car, the bus is certainly the first choice for a tour of Malta and Gozo.

Malta Urlaubs Tipps
Source: https://www.publictransport.com.mt/

Car ferry between Malta and Gozo

Every 45 minutes there is a large car ferry between Malta and Gozo and in the opposite direction. Of course you can also use the ferry without a car.
The fee is only paid on the way back from Gozo to Malta, although we have already heard that this should change. The crossing takes about 25 minutes.
Various shops for food, magazines, toys, food and drinks are on board the ferry.

There are also rumors about a planned bridge between the islands.

Malta Reisetipps

Driving a car during the Malta and Gozo tour

Luqa Airport is very manageable. The booths of the rental car companies are located inside the reception building. The car is picked up at the airport parking lot and the Malta round trip starts.

Driving is generally only possible on the islands of Malta and Gozo. You cannot drive a car on Comino. Because of the small size and mountainous and rocky nature of Comino, it wouldn't make sense either. Left-hand traffic prevails on both islands due to the English colonial past. The distances on Gozo are very short and they are also limited in Malta. So you can confidently plan several sights per day during the Malta tour. This is also the next of our Malta travel tips. The archipelago is not large and the individual sights are breathtaking but mostly not very extensive, so that you can see a lot in just a few days.

Malta Reisetipps

Passenger ferry between Valletta and Sliema

If you want to visit Sliema or the other places on the opposite side of the main bay in addition to Valletta, we have another Malta travel tip for you. Do not take the bus, but the passenger ferry to Sliema. You have a free sightseeing tour through the natural harbor of Valletta. The boat runs from one city to another every 30 minutes. Both return tickets and one-way tickets are sold. The journey to / from Sliema to / from Valletta takes about 10 minutes. There are no official ticket offices, you just queue up and pay when you get in. Everything very straightforward and proven for decades.

Malta Reisetipps

MONEY AND TOOLS - MALTA TRAVEL TIPS

Geld in Europa
Malta has been paying with the euro since 2008. Credit cards are accepted in almost all locations and ATMS is relatively easy to find. The supply of cash is relatively easy. Tips are handled in a similar way to Germany.

FOOD - MALTA TRAVEL TIPS

The dishes of a typical Maltese restaurant are similar to those of an Italian restaurant. Fantastic pasta, fresh seafood and good quality meat. But what is typically Maltese and can be found on every menu is rabbit. But every culture that has ever been to Malta has left its culinary traces. You can really find any kind of restaurant here. Our restaurant recommendations are an essential part of our Malta travel tips. We all visited during our Malta tour:

Malta/Valletta

♦ Margos: Exceptional and delicious pizza with great ingredients

♦ Cafe Cordina: Beautifully situated on one of Valletta's main squares and a Malta travel tip for Aperol lovers with happy hour from 5:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.

♦ Is-Suq tal-Belt: The food market in Valetta impresses with a variety of excellent restaurants with great dishes

♦ Amorino: Serves delicious ice cream that is served beautifully in the shape of a flower

♦ Venchi Chocolate & Ice Cream: The best ice cream in Malta

Gozo

♦ L-Iskoll: The best Mediterranean food we ate during our Malta tour and thus the number 1 of our Gozo & Malta vacation tips.The restaurant is really fantastic.

♦ Ottavo Senso: very tasty pizzas

Malta Reisetipps
Malta Reisetipps

VALLETTA - MALTA TRAVEL TIPS

Culture

Valletta is the European Capital of Culture. It impresses with its historical history and the time-honored and impressive buildings.
The buildings on St. Pauls Street used to be the aristocratic residences. They are quite narrow but tall. Many of the houses now serve as boutique hotels and impress with their fantastic courtyards.
Here you can find our hotels in Malta.
If the people of Malta like one thing, it's fireworks and cannon shots. They even fire rockets into the sky during the day. But especially in the evening it is really wonderful to watch the colorful fireworks.

Malta Reisetipps

Parking

The parking lots on the streets are marked with colored markings.

Yellow: hotel zone, the zone is only used for short parking (unloading and loading)

Blue: residents

White: Everyone can park here, provided you find a parking space.

We didn't see a single free white parking space during our Malta tour.
At the bus station there is the large MCP Floriana car park, where you can safely leave your car.

Malta Reisetipps
Malta Reisetipps

Shops and restaurants

Most shops are closed on Sundays, as are cafés, bistros, etc. Every shop and pub is open only on the lively main pedestrian zone.

What to see

The alleys of Valletta are the absolute highlights for us and one of our Malta travel tips. Just stroll around, here an Aperol Spritz, there a delicious ice cream: pure lifestyle.

At the beginning of the trip, a visit to the Malta Experience is recommended. Every hour from 11:00 a.m. you can get a great overview of the history of Malta through this film screening.
To get a great overview of the sensational natural harbor of Valetta, head to the Upper Barakka Gardens.

Malta Reisetipps

THINGS TO SEE AND KNOW IN MALTA

Here we introduce you to the famous sights of the islands.

Malta is particularly crowded in the summer months. Therefore, count on overcrowded highlights. However, we looked at the well-known highlights and tell you our opinion here. We have also put together our own not so crowded highlights for you.

Below you will find the well-known but crowded highlights and here you will find our cool highlights of Malta and thus an integral part of our Malta travel tips.

St. Peters Pool

The St. Peters Pool is a rocky bay with crystal clear water. There was a lot going on with us and so we didn't spend too much time there. Overall nice, but you don't have to see it. A little uphill there is a bar selling cold drinks. Because of the danger that something could break off the cliffs, a lying area is already closed off. There is a larger car park right at the end of the street. Don't be confused if the other people park a few hundred meters in advance.
Malta Reisetipps

Mdina

Mdina's old city center used to be the capital of Malta. Overall, certainly worth a visit, but relatively small and not much on offer. The outer part of the city doesn't have much to offer. One could still look at the catacombs of St. Paul. But we decided against it on our Malta tour.
Malta Reisetipps
Malta Reisetipps

Sliema

On the harbor promenade you can buy tickets for hop on hop off buses, Gozo boat tours, Comino boat tours and harbor cruises. Mass tourism in its purest form and therefore Sliema is not one of our travel tips for Malta.

ATTRACTIONS AND GOOD TO KNOW ON GOZO

Azure Window

By mid-2017, a huge, naturally-shaped rock arch protruded into the sea. Now you can see nothing of it, because the Azure Window could no longer withstand a storm and collapsed. The highlight and thus the most famous of all Malta travel tips has disappeared forever. The remains of the Azur Windows can be viewed during a dive.
Malta Reisetipps

Inland Sea

This is a beach located inland and connected to the open sea by a natural tunnel in the rock. The Inland Sea is completely full of boats and is actually no longer a pretty sight. Here the locals meant a little too well with the number of diving schools and the number of boats. Too bad about such a great natural phenomenon.
Malta Reisetipps

Salt Pans

The salt pans are small vats carved into the soft rocks of the coast. These are filled with salt water and exposed to wind and sun. After the water has evaporated from the basin, all that remains is sea salt, which is mined and sold.
Malta Reisetipps

Xweijni Bay

Here you can find cool rock formations. The beach is not a hit.
Malta Reisetipps

Xlendji Bay

The place and the associated bay are really picturesque, but totally overbuilt. You can find some nice restaurants in the first row on the small beach. There is also a large free car park. On the right side of the bay (if you look at the sea) there is a small path up the cliffs that ends in a small cave with a great view of the bay.
Malta Reisetipps

COMINO - MALTA TRAVEL TIPS

Blue Lagoon

The blue lagoon is the most crowded place we saw on our Malta tour. Of course, the lagoon would also be the most beautiful place in the archipelago if there weren't thousands of tourists there. If you want to see the lagoon, try to arrange an early morning private transfer to get away from the mass tourism boats. It is probably not that bad in autumn or spring.
Reiseziele in Europa

OUR COSTS - MALTA TRAVEL IN JULY 2018

Our costs for a week in Malta were relatively high. But we also really let it go. A rental car, great hotels and delicious food. The Malta costs can certainly be kept a bit lower, but that's our way of traveling. We are not the classic backpackers. We work hard for our money and sometimes afford something.

Other posts you may be interested in:

Zentral, Qualität, Design

Zentral, Genuss, Aussicht

Geschichte, Aussicht, Ruhe

Strand, Ozean, Lagune

history, city, enjoyment

volcano, beach, wine

mountains, enjoyment, nature

dream beaches, enjoyment, recreation

nature, culture, adventure

hiking, biking, skiing

Malta Reisetipps

Malta Reisetipps

Währung

Euro (EUR)

Sprache

Maltesisch, Englisch

Einwohner

437.000

Preisniveau

$$-$$$

♦♦♦♦

♦♦♦♦

Malta Reisetipps

Das Land Malta ist seit 1964 unabhängig. In der Vergangenheit wurden die Malteser immer wieder von anderen Machthabern eingenommen und beherrscht. Zum Malta-Archipel gehören neben Malta selbst noch Gozo und Comino und weitere sehr kleine Inseln. Im Zuge unserer Malta Rundreise haben wir alle drei großen Inseln besucht.

Malta ist prädestiniert für eine Rundreise mit Mietwagen. Wenig Verkehr, die Highlights sind nahe beisammen und die Straßen sind gut in Schuss.

Gesundheitsvorkehrungen - Malta Reisetipps

Für Malta sind die auch in Deutschland wichtigen Standardimpfungen zu empfehlen.

Anreise, Visum und Ausreise - Malta Reisetipps

Der Flughafen Malta Luqa wird von vielen Deutschen Flughäfen sowie Wien und Zürich direkt angeflogen. Ihr kommt aber von den allermeisten Deutschen Flughäfen mit maximal einem Stopp auf die sonnige Mittelmeer-Insel.

Ein Visum ist für EU-Bürger nicht nötig, da auch Malta ein EU-Land ist.

Geld und Trinkgelder - Malta Reisetipps

Seit dem Jahr 2008 zahlt man auf Malta mit dem Euro. In fast allen Lokalen wird Kreditkarte akzeptiert und auch ATMS findet man relativ einfach. Die Versorgung mit Bargeld ist relativ einfach. Trinkgelder werden ähnlich wie in Deutschland gehandhabt.

Geld

SIM Karte - Malta Reisetipps

Auf Malta könnt ihr getrost die deutsche oder österreichische SIM-Karte benutzen seit Roaming-Gebühren abgeschafft wurden. Ihr braucht euch keine SIM-Karte vor Ort kaufen. Wenn ihr standardmäßig eine SIM-Karte aus einem Nicht-EU-Land habt, dann informiert euch besser bei eurem Provider über eventuell anfallende Kosten.

Malta Reisetipps - Unterwegs vor Ort

Öffentlicher Transport auf Malta und Gozo

Das Bussystem auf Malta und Gozo ist sehr gut ausgebaut und perfekt für eine Malta Rundreise geeignet.
Unser Malta Reisetipp: Man erreicht die meisten Zielen auf den Inseln wirklich einfach per Bus.
Der Malta Public Transport bietet Reisenden sogar 7-Tages-Karten und andere Angebote zu günstigen Preisen. Wenn man kein Mietauto hat, ist sicherlich der Bus die erste Wahl für eine Rundreise auf Malta und Gozo.

Öffentlicher Verkehr Malta

Autofähre zwischen Malta und Gozo

Alle 45 Minuten verkehrt eine große Autofähre zwischen Malta nach Gozo und in die entgegengesetzte Richtung. Natürlich kann man die Fähre auch ohne Auto benutzen.
Die Gebühr zahlt man erst auf der Rückfahrt von Gozo nach Malta, obwohl wir schon gehört haben, dass sich das ändern soll. Die Dauer der Überfahrt beträgt ca. 25 Minuten.
An Board der Fähre befinden sich diverse Shops für Lebensmitteln, Zeitschriften, Spielzeug, Essen & Trinken.

Es gibt auch immer wieder Gerüchte über eine geplante Brücke zwischen den Inseln.

 

Fähre nach Gozo

Autofahren während der Malta und Gozo Rundreise

Der Flughafen Luqa ist sehr überschaubar. Der Stände der Mietwagenfirmen befinden sich innerhalb des Empfangsgebäudes. Das Auto holt man auf dem Parkplatz des Flughafens ab und startet die Malta Rundreise.

Autofahren ist generell nur auf den Inseln Malta und Gozo möglich. Auf Comino könnt ihr nicht mit dem Auto fahren,. DAs würde aufgrund der geringen Größe und bergigen und felsigen Beschaffenheit von Comino auch keine Sinn machen.  Auf beiden Inseln herrscht aufgrund der englischen Kolonialvergangenheit Linksverkehr. Die Entfernungen auf Gozo sind sehr gering und auch in Malta halten sie sich in Grenzen. Ihr könnt also getrost mehrere Sehenswürdigkeiten pro Tag während der Malta Rundreise einplanen. Das ist auch der nächste unserer Malta Reisetipps. Der Archipel ist nicht groß und die einzelnen Sehenswürdigkeiten sind atemberaubend aber meist nicht sehr weitläufig, sodass man auch in wenigen Tagen viel sehen kann.

Mietauto Malta

Personenfähre zwischen Valletta und Sliema

Solltet ihr neben Valletta auch Sliema oder die anderen Orte auf der gegenüberliegenden Seite der Hauptbucht besichtigen wollen, haben wir wieder einen MaltaReisetipp für euch. Nehmt nicht den Bus, sondern die Personenfähre nach Sliema. Dabei habt ihr eine gratis Sightseeing-Tour durch den Naturhafen von Valletta. Das Boot verkehrt alle 30-Minuten von der einen Stadt zur anderen. Es werden sowohl Hin- und Zurück-Tickets als auch Oneway-Tickets verkauft. Die Fahrt nach/von Sliema nach/von Valletta dauert ca. 10 Minuten. Es gibt keine offiziellen Ticketkassen, man stellt sich einfach an und bezahlt beim Einsteigen. Alles sehr unkompliziert und seit Jahrzehnten bewährt.

Hafenrundfahrt Valetta

Essen - Malta Reisetipps

Die Speisen eines typisch maltesischen Restaurants ähneln denen in einem italienischen Restaurant. Fantastische Pasta, frische Meeresfrüchte und Fleisch von guter Qualität.
Was aber typisch maltesisch ist und auf jeder Speisekarte zu finden ist, ist Hase. Aber jede Kultur, die jemals auf Malta war, hat ihre kulinarischen Spuren hinterlassen. Man findet hier wirklich jede Art von Restaurant. Unsere Restaurantempfehlungen sind essentieller Bestandteil unserer Malta Reisetipps. Wir haben alle während unserer Malta Rundreise besucht:

Malta/Valletta

♦ Margos: Außergewöhnliche und leckere Pizza mit tollen Zutaten
♦ Cafe Cordina: Wunderschön auf einem der Hauptplätze Vallettas gelegen und ein Malta Reisetipp für Aperol-Liebhaber mit Happy Hour von 17:00 bis 20:00 Uhr
♦ Is-Suq tal-Belt: Der Food Market in Valetta besticht durch eine Vielzahl hervorragender Lokale mit tollen Gerichten
♦ Amorino: Serviert leckeres Eis, das wunderschön in Blumenform serviert wird
♦ Venchi Chocolate & Ice Cream: Das Beste Eis auf Malta

Gozo

♦ L-Iskoll: Das beste mediterrane Essen, das wir während unserer Malta Rundreise gegessen haben und damit die Nummer 1 unserer Gozo & Malta Urlaub Tipps   . Das Restaurant ist wirklich fantastisch.
♦ Ottavo Senso: Sehr leckere Pizzas

Restaurant Valetta
Essen Malta

Valletta - Malta Reisetipps

Kultur

Valletta ist die Kulturhauptstadt Europas. Sie besticht mit ihrer historischen Geschichte und den altehrwürdigen und beeindruckenden Gebäuden.
Die Gebäude in der St. Pauls Street dienten in alter Zeit als Wohnsitze der Aristokraten. Sie sind recht schmal aber hoch gebaut. Viele der Häuser dienen heute als Boutique Hotels und beeindrucken mit ihren fantastischen Innenhöfen.
Hier kommst du zu unseren Hotels auf Malta.
Wenn die Einwohner Maltas auf eines stehen, dann sind es Feuerwerke und Kanonenschüsse. Sogar tagsüber schießen sie Raketen in den Himmel. Aber vor allem abends ist es wirklich herrlich dem bunten Feuerwerk zuzusehen.

Malta Überblick

Parken

An den Straßen sind die Parkplätze durch farbige Markierungen gekennzeichnet.
Gelb: Hotelzone, die Zone dient nur zum Kurzparken (Aus- und Einladen)
Blau: Anwohner
Weiß: Jeder darf hier parken, vorausgesetzt Du findest einen Parkplatz. Wir haben während unserer Malta Rundreise keinen einzigen freien weißen Parkplatz gesehen.
Am Busbahnhof befindet sich das große Parkhaus MCP Floriana, indem man getrost sein Auto stehen lassen kann.

Malta Reisetipps

Geschäfte und Restaurants

Am Sonntag sind die meisten Geschäfte geschlossen, ebenso Cafés, Bistros etc. Nur auf der belebten Hauptfußgängerzone ist jedes Geschäft und Lokal geöffnet.

Sehenswertes

Die Gassen Vallettas sind für uns das absolute Highlights und einer unserer Malta Reisetipps. Einfach rum schlendern, hier mal einen Aperol Spritz, da mal ein leckeres Eis: Lebensgefühl pur.
Zu Beginn der Reise bietet sich ein Besuch der Malta Experience an. Stündlich ab 11:00 Uhr erlangt man durch diese Filmvorführung eine tollen Überblick über die Geschichte Maltas .
Um einen tollen Überblick über den sensationellen Naturhafen Valettas zu erlangen, begebt euch in die Upper Barakka Gardens.

Malta La Valetta

Sehenswürdigkeiten und Wissenswertes auf Malta - Malta Reisetipps

Hier stellen wir euch die bekannten Sehenswürdigkeiten der Inseln vor.

Malta ist vor allem in den Sommermonaten reichlich überfüllt. Rechnet daher auch mit überfüllten Highlights. Wir haben uns die bekannten Highlights aber trotzdem angeschaut und sagen euch hier unsere Meinung dazu. Wir haben für euch aber auch unsere eigenen nicht so überfüllten Highlights zusammengestellt.

Nachstehend findet ihr also die bekannten, aber überfüllten Highlights und hier gelangt ihr zu unseren coolen Highlights und damit integralem Bestandteil unserer Malta Reisetipps.

St. Peters Pool

Der St. Peters Pool ist eine Felsenbucht mit glasklarem Wasser. Bei uns war extrem viel los und somit haben wir nicht allzu viel Zeit dort verbracht. Insgesamt nett, muss man aber nicht unbedingt gesehen haben. Etwas bergauf befindet sich eine Bar, die kalte Getränke verkauft. Wegen Gefahr, dass etwas von den Klippen abbrechen könnte, ist bereits ein Liegebereich abgesperrt. Ein größerer Parkplatz befindet sich direkt am Ende der Straße. Nicht irritieren lassen, wenn die anderen Leute bereits ein paar hundert Meter vorher parken.

Malta Highlights

Mdina

Mdina´s alte Innenstadt war früher die Hauptstadt Maltas. Insgesamt sicherlich einen Besuch wert, aber doch relativ klein und nicht viel geboten. Der äußere Teil der Stadt hat nicht viel zu bieten. Man könnte sich noch die Katakomben St. Pauls anschauen. Wir haben uns aber auf unserer Malta Rundreise dagegen entschieden.

Mdina Malta

Sliema

An der Hafenpromenade kann man Tickets für Hop on Hop off - Busse, Gozo-Schiffstouren, Comino-Schifftstouren und Harbourcruise kaufen. Massentourismus in seiner reinsten Form und daher fällt Sliema nicht in unsere Reisetipps für Malta.

Sehenswürdigkeiten und Wissenswertes auf Gozo - Malta Reisetipps

Azure Window

Bis Mitte 2017 ragte ein gewaltiger von der Natur geformter Felsbogen ins Meer. Nun erkennt man davon nichts mehr, denn das Azure Window konnte einem Sturm nicht mehr standhalten und ist eingestürzt. Damit ist das Highlight und damit der bekannteste aller Malta Reisetipps für immer verschwunden. Wobei, die Reste des Azur Windows sind bei einem Tauchgang zu besichtigen.

Sehenswürdigkeiten Gozo

Inland Sea

Hierbei handelt es sich um einen Strand der im Landesinneren liegt und durch einen natürlichen Tunnel im Fels mit dem offenen Meer verbunden ist. Der Inland Sea ist total vollgestellt mit Booten und bietet eigentlich keinen schönen Anblick mehr. Hier haben es die Einheimischen etwas zu gut mit der Anzahl der Tauchschulen und der Boote gemeint. Schade um so ein tolles Naturphänomen.

Gozo Top 10

Salt Pans

Die Salt Pans sind kleine Bottiche, die in den weichen Felsen der Küste gehauen wurden. Diese werden mit Salzwasser gefüllt und Wind und Sonne ausgesetzt. Nach dem das Wasser aus den Becken verdunstet ist, bleibt lediglich Meersalz übrig, das abgebaut und verkauft wird.

Malta Reisetipps

Xweijni Bay

Hier findet man coole Felsformationen. Der Strand ist nicht der Hit.

Malta Reisetipps

Xlendji Bay

Der Ort und die zugehörige Bucht sind echt malerisch gelegen, aber total zugebaut. Einige recht nette Restaurants findet ihr in erster Reihe am kleinen Strand. Auch ein großer kostenloser Parkplatz steht bereit. Auf der rechten Seite der Bucht (wenn man aufs Meer blickt) befindet sich ein kleiner Pfad auf die Klippen hoch, der in einer kleinen Höhle mit super Ausblick auf die Bucht endet.

Malta Xlendji

Comino - Malta Reisetipps

Blaue Lagune

Die blaue Lagune ist der am meisten überfüllte Ort, den wir auf unserer Malta Rundreise gesehen haben. Natürlich wäre die Lagune auch der schönste Ort des Archipels, wären nicht tausende Touristen vor Ort. Wenn ihr euch die Lagune anschauen wollt, dann versucht einen Privattransfer am frühen Morgen zu organisieren, um den Booten der Massentouristen zu entfliehen. Wahrscheinlich ist es dort im Herbst oder Frühjahr nicht so schlimm.

Blue Lagoon Malta

♦♦♦♦