Indonesia Travel Tips

Indonesia consists of over 17,000 islands. There are of course some potential travel destinations and travel tips for Indonesia. That is why we present some of them here and also give you important general information about Indonesia.

In our Indonesia travel tips, we will introduce you to the usual categories such as health precautions, entry requirements, visa, SIM card, transport and so on. Of course, as always in the travel tips, we will also link you to the region pages and recommend Tour Operator and Hotels: Of course you will also get an overview of the costs of our trip in our travel tips and we will show you the country with videos.

Each one of our Indonesia travel destinations has its own charm with breathtaking nature and incredible diversity. Sumatra with its impenetrable jungle and the last free living orangutans and tigers. Java with its breathtaking volcanoes. In Bali , parties, a hip food scene and wonderful nature shake hands. The Komodo National Park , one of the best diving areas on earth, is just a 75-minute flight further east.

If you ask us, the travel destination Indonesia with its diverse islands is probably the most diverse country on earth, which is definitely worth a trip or more.

Short Facts

Currency

Indonesian Rupiah (IDR)

Language

Indonesian

Inhabitants

261 Millions

Price level

$-$$

ENTRY, VISA AND EXIT - INDONESIA TRAVEL TIPS

In most cases, entry into Indonesia will take place by plane or ship, because Indonesia is an island kingdom and in most cases entry via land is not possible. The largest and most important airports for international travel are Jakarta and Bali. Especially for the airport in Bali we have put together one or two Indonesia travel tips. Have a look at our Bali travel tips.

For entries for tourist purposes up to 30 days, either the visa-free entry or the Visa on Arrival is the right choice. It should be noted here that the stay with a visa-free entry cannot be extended beyond 30 days. The Visa on Arrival can be extended to 60 days under certain circumstances. These two options can be issued when entering the airport.
For a stay of more than 60 days, the visa must be applied for before the trip.
We have researched this information to the best of our knowledge and belief and were correct at the time of the trip. Be sure to inform yourself again about the current entry requirements.

Indonesien Reisetipps

HEALTH PRECAUTIONS: INDONESIA TRAVEL TIPS

We had vaccinations against hepatitis A / B, Japanese encephalitis, cholera, rabies and typhoid from previous trips. Of course, we also had the standard vaccinations checked.
Malaria is common on some islands. Of course, the mosquitoes are very active in the rainy season. Flores in particular is affected and that's why we decided on malaria prophylaxis.
Not everyone takes the issue as seriously as we do, but we want to keep the risk as small as possible with regard to our health.

But everyone has to make this decision themselves. We therefore recommend that you carry out a thorough research on the correct health precautions yourself and, if necessary, contact a specialist before tackling the travel destination Indonesia.
Also take care of diarrhea and seasickness.

Indonesien Reisetipps

MONEY AND TIPS

All over Indonesia, Indonesian rupees are used to pay. Always make sure that your banknotes are in good condition, otherwise they may not be accepted if you want to pay with them.

One of our Indonesia travel tips is to always have enough cash with you, because ATMs are scarce outside the larger cities of Indonesia and the maximum amount that can be withdrawn is limited, so you may have to withdraw several times in a row to get enough cash. For many tours that you book on site, the following applies: only cash is true.

Gratuities are always welcome, of course, but there are no set rules, such as in the United States. In the restaurant you can generously round up due to the usually low prices. Tour guides, diving instructors and hotel employees are also happy about a little something.

Indonesien Reisetipps

SIM CARD - INDONESIA TRAVEL TIPS

Do you want to buy an Indonesian SIM card? It's not that easy ... we thought! We left our hotel in Kuta and went looking for SIM cards. In the shopping center, security staff told us that the nearest SIM card retailer is relatively far away. Can it really be? This is where the next of our Indonesia travel tips comes into play.

In almost all small grocery stores that are everywhere, you can get SIM cards for the equivalent of a few euros. The vendors pull the SIM cards out from under the counter. Doesn't look quite official, but it works. The salespeople can also insert and activate them quickly and easily. The reception is surprisingly very good almost everywhere.

You can get SIM cards everywhere, you just have to ask for them.

Indonesien Reisetipps

On the go

There are many ways to get from one place to another in Indonesia. In our opinion, there is an important Indonesia travel tip: Don't drive yourself and save yourself time and stress.

Due to the low price level, take a driver, book a car service or rent a scooter that will get you quickly through the narrow, congested streets. The bus or the grab app also get you to your destination quickly and cheaply. For other routes take one of the many cheap domestic Indonesian flights.

Indonesien Reisetipps

PEOPLE AND CULTURE - INDONESIA TRAVEL TIPS

Indonesia is a mainly Muslim country, but there are also many other religions in the country. In principle, all religions live together very peacefully and respect the faith of their countrymen.
The majority of the people in Bali follow the belief of Hinduism. Sumatra and Java are mainly Muslim, while Flores is dominated by Christianity and people - very familiar to us - have Biblical names.

The Indonesians are an extremely friendly people - always in a good mood and very hospitable. Tourism is a very important source of income for many people in Indonesia. One of our Indonesia travel tips, which is very important to us, is: engage in discussions at eye level with the locals and ask about their stories and tell them yours. You will not regret it.

As in all tourist strongholds, it can happen that you pay a little more for a service than a local would do, but where is it not? We had the impression that the people in Indonesia are very honest and honorable.

Indonesien Reisetipps

NATURE AND ANIMALS - INDONESIA TRAVEL TIPS

Indonesia's nature is arguably the country's biggest asset. What we saw here is insane. Volcanoes, jungles, orangutans, monkeys, sharks, manta rays - all of these belong to Indonesia.

The country shines with a diversity that is second to none. We believe Indonesia is the most diverse country on earth.

Sumatra offers dense jungle and the last orangutans and tigers on this planet. Go on multi-day hikes and spend the night in a jungle camp by the waterfall. You will be awakened by monkeys, accompanied by fluorescent dragonflies in the evening and sung to sleep by the sounds of the jungle.

Experience Java with its volcanoes and plateaus. Hike to a volcano in the crater where blue flames burn, or experience the sunrise with a view of the Bromo volcano. In the area of ​​Yogyakarta you will find Borobudur and Prambanan, one of the most impressive ancient temples in the world.

Bali awaits you with black and white beaches, its inimitable way of life and the incredible food.

And then in the far east - almost forgotten - is Flores with the last dragons in the world - the world-famous Komodo dragons. A hike to Rinca or Komodo with the giant lizards is a kind of Jurassic Park experience. Many do not know, but the islands of Komodo National Park form a border between the Indian Ocean and the Pacific. The tides press twice a day. nutrient-rich water through this bottle neck and that lets life bloom here under water. Komodo National Park is one of the best diving areas in the world. Incredibly colorful coral reefs and a variety of fish that is second to none.

All of this is Indonesia. Just be enchanted.

Indonesien Reisetipps

FOOD - INDONESIA TRAVEL TIPS

Eating in Indonesia is definitely spicy, varied and delicious. On every corner there are small food shops and food stalls - so-called warungs - that offer typical dishes such as nasi (rice) goreng or mi (noodles) goreng. These two dishes are very dominant in the warungs and are offered with different types of fish, meat or vegetables. The Night Markets, which you will find again and again, offer incredible taste explosions. But you shouldn't have a sensitive stomach. At Gili Trawangan we got fresh grilled fish with delicious side dishes for little money. One of the best meals of the entire trip.

Our Indonesia travel tip: indulge in local food.

Fresh coffee? Mostly none! Coffee is offered primarily in Java and Sumatra in small instant packets that are infused with water. What we can highly recommend after a night with little sleep is Kopi Susu - heavily sweetened instant coffee with milk powder. Not really our thing, but extremely tasty and one of our Indonesia travel tips.

Indonesien Reisetipps

CLIMATE - INDONESIA TRAVEL TIPS

Indonesia's climate is characterized by its location in the tropics. It is always warm, at least at sea level. But it can get really cool on the high plateaus of Java. Always take warm clothes with you when you go to mountainous regions. We made a mistake about the volcanoes in Java.

As is common in the tropics, there are no seasons like ours, but the year is divided into rainy and dry seasons. As the country stretches across countless islands and thousands of kilometers, these times are different everywhere. So it may be that the east of the country is the perfect time to travel and the rainy season in the west. So inform yourself here because Indonesia is really huge and has many facets. In some regions, a trip in the rainy season can also be worthwhile, because the daily showers are heavy, but mostly short.

Depending on your preferences, you can choose the best island and the best time for your trip. Indonesia is a true year-round destination.

Indonesien Reisetipps

Other posts you may be interested in:

Dschungel, Reisfelder, Cafés

Unterwasser, Waran, Schiff

Insel, Fahrrad, Strand

Tauchen, Relax, Traum

Nachhaltig, Design, Natur

Strand, Cooking Class, Design

Genuss, Zentral, Innenhof

Dschungel, Affen, Zentral

Komodo, Waran, Natur

Primaten, Affen, Dschungel

Vulkan, Abteneuer, Wandern

Erholung, Genuss, Sonne
Tempel, Geschichte, Rummel

Weihrauch, Strand, Bergdörfer

Großstadt, Modern, Anders
Asiatisch, Westlich, Modern
Zeit, Kosten, Plan
Road Trip, Städtereise, Strand

Indonesien Reisetipps

Indonesien Reisetipps

Währung

Indonesische Rupiah (IDR)

Sprache

Indonesisch

Einwohner

261 Millionen

Preisniveau

$-$$

♦♦♦♦

♦♦♦♦

♦♦♦♦

Indonesien Reisetipps

Indonesien besteht aus über 17.000 Inseln. Da sind natürlich einige potenzielle Reiseziele und damit auch Reisetipps für Indonesien dabei. Deswegen stellen wir euch hier einige davon vor und geben euch zusätzlich wichtige allgemeine Informationen zu Indonesien.

In unseren Indonesien Reisetipps stellen wir euch die gewohnten Kategorien wie Gesundheitsvorkehrungen, Einreisemodalitäten, Visum, Sim-Karte, Transport und so weiter vor. Natürlich verlinken wir euch - wie immer in den Reisetipps -  auch wieder die Regionenseiten und empfehlen euch Touranbieter und Hotels: Natürlich bekommt ihr Ion unseren Reisetipps auch eine Übersicht über die Kosten unserer Reise und wir zeigen euch das Land anhand von Videos.

Jedes einzelne unserer Indonesien Reiseziele hat seinen eigenen Charme mit atemberaubender Natur und unglaublicher Vielfalt. Sumatra mit seinem undurchdringlichen Dschungel und den letzten freilebenden Orang Utans und Tigern. Java mit seinen atemberaubenden Vulkanen. Auf Bali geben sich Party, eine hippe Foodszene und wundervolle Natur die Hand. Nur gute 75 Flugminuten weiter östlich wartet mit dem Komodo-Nationalpark eines der besten Tauchgebiete dieser Erde.

Wenn du uns fragst, ist das Reiseziel Indonesien mit seinen abwechslungsreichen Inseln wohl das facettenreichste Land der Erde, das definitiv eine oder mehrere Reisen wert ist.

Indonesien Reisetipps

Gesundheitsvorkehrungen: Indonesien Reisetipps

Wir hatten von vorherigen Reisen bereits Impfungen gegen Hepatitis A/B, Japanische Enzephalitis, Cholera, Tollwut und Typhus. Natürlich haben wir auch die Standard-Impfungen überprüfen lassen.
Auf manchen Inseln ist Malaria verbreitet. Natürlich sind in der Regenzeit die Mücken sehr aktiv. Vor allem Flores ist betroffen und deshalb haben wir uns auch für Malaria-Prophylaxe entschieden.
Nicht jeder nimmt das Thema so ernst wie wir, aber hinsichtlich unserer Gesundheit wollen wir das Risiko möglichst klein halten.

Diese Entscheidung muss aber jeder selbst treffen. So empfehlen wir euch selbst eine gründliche Recherche bezüglich der richtigen Gesundheitsvorkehrungen durchzuführen und ggf. einen Spezialisten zu kontaktieren, bevor ihr das Reiseziel Indonesien in Angriff nehmt.
Trefft auch Vorsorge für Durchfall und Seekrankheit.

Bukit Lawang

Einreise, Visum und Ausreise - Indonesien Reisetipps

Die Einreise nach Indonesien wird in den allermeisten Fällen per Flugzeug oder Schiff stattfinden, denn Indonesien ist ein Inselreich und die Einreise über Land ist in den meisten Fällen nicht möglich. Die größten und wichtigsten Flughäfen für internationale Anreise sind Jakarta und Bali. Vor allem für den Flughafen in Bali haben wir euch noch den ein oder anderen Indonesien Reisetipp zusammengestellt. Schaut doch mal in unsere Bali Reisetipps.

Für Einreisen zu touristischen Zwecken bis zu 30 Tagen ist entweder die visumfreie Einreise oder das Visa on Arrival die richtige Wahl. Hier ist zu beachten, dass der Aufenthalt mit visumfreier Einreise nicht über 30 Tage hinaus verlängert werden kann. Das Visa on Arrival kann unter bestimmten Umständen auf 60 Tage verlängert werden. Diese beiden Optionen können bei der Einreise am Flughafen ausgestellt werden.
Für mehr als 60 Tage Aufenthalt muss das Visum vor der Reise beantragt werden.
Diese Informationen haben wir mit bestem Wissen und Gewissen recherchiert und waren zur Zeit der Reise korrekt. Informiert euch unbedingt selbst nochmal über die aktuellen Einreisebestimmungen.

Reiseziel Indonesien

Geld und Trinkgelder

In ganz Indonesien wird mit Indonesischen Rupien bezahlt. Achtet immer darauf, dass eure Banknoten in gutem Zustand sind, denn sonst kann es sein, dass sie nicht angenommen werden, wenn ihr damit bezahlen wollt.

Einer unserer Indonesien Reisetipps ist, immer genügend Bargeld dabei zu haben, denn außerhalb der größeren Städte Indonesiens sind ATMs Mangelware und die maximal abhebbare Summe ist beschränkt, sodass ihr eventuell mehrere Male hintereinander abheben müsst, um genug Bares zu erhalten. Für viele Touren, die ihr vor Ort bucht, gilt: Nur Bares ist Wahres.

Trinkgelder sind natürlich immer willkommen, aber es gibt keine festen Regeln wie zum Beispiel in den USA. Im Restaurant kann man aufgrund der meist günstigen Preise großzügig aufrunden. Auch Tourguides, Tauchlehrer und Hotelangestellte freuen sich über eine Kleinigkeit.

Reiseziel Indonesien

SIM Karte - Indonesien Reisetipps

Du möchtest eine indonesische SIM-Karte kaufen? Das ist gar nicht so einfach… Dachten wir! Wir haben unser Hotel in Kuta verlassen und haben uns auf die Suche nach SIM-Karten begeben. Im Shopping-Center sagte uns das Sicherheitspersonal, dass der nächste SIM-Karten Händler relativ weit entfernt ist. Kann das wirklich sein? Hier kommt der nächste unserer Indonesien Reisetipps ins Spiel.

In fast allen kleinen Lebensmittelläden, die es hier überall gibt, bekommt man SIM-Karten für umgerechnet wenige Euros. Die Verkäufer ziehen die SIM-Karten unter der Theke hervor. Sieht nicht ganz offiziell aus, aber klappt. Auch das Einlegen und Aktivieren erledigen die Verkäufer schnell und unkompliziert. Der Empfang ist überraschenderweise fast überall sehr gut.

Also SIM-Karten bekommt man überall, man muss nur danach fragen.

Reiseziel Indonesien

Unterwegs vor Ort

In Indonesien gibt es viele Möglichkeiten von einem Ort zum anderem zu gelangen. Unserer Meinung nach gibt es einen wichtigen Indonesien Reisetipp: Fahrt nicht selbst mit dem Auto und spart euch Zeit und Stress.

Aufgrund des niedrigen Preisniveaus nehmt euch einen Fahrer, bucht einen Fahrdienst oder mietet einen Roller, mit dem ihr schnell durch die engen, verstopften Straßen kommt. Auch der Bus oder die Grab-App bringen euch schnell und günstig ans Ziel. Für weitere Strecken nehmt einen der vielen günstigen innerindonesischen Flug.

Indonesien Reisetipps

Menschen und Kultur - Indonesien Reisetipps

Indonesien ist ein hauptsächlich muslimisches Land, jedoch sind auch viele andere Religionen im Land beheimatet. Alle Religionen leben im Grundsatz sehr friedlich zusammen und respektieren den Glauben ihrer Landsleute.
Die Menschen auf Bali folgen mehrheitlich dem Glauben des Hinduismus. Sumatra und Java sind hauptsächlich muslimisch, während auf Flores das Christentum dominiert und die Menschen - uns sehr vertraute - biblische Namen tragen.

Die Indonesier sind ein extrem freundliches Volk - immer gut gelaunt und sehr gastfreundlich. Der Tourismus ist eine sehr wichtige Einnahmequelle für viele Menschen in Indonesien. Einer unserer Indonesien Reisetipps, der uns sehr am Herzen liegt, ist: Lasst euch auf Gespräche auf Augenhöhe mit den Einheimischen ein und fragt nach ihren Geschichten und erzählt ihnen die euren. Ihr werdet es nicht bereuen.

Wie in allen Touristenhochburgen kann es schon mal sein, dass ihr etwas mehr für eine Leistung zahlt, als das ein Einheimischer tun würde, aber wo ist das schon nicht so? Wir hatten den Eindruck dass die Leute in Indonesien sehr ehrlich und ehrenhaft sind.

Reiseziel Indonesien

Natur und Tiere - Indonesien Reisetipps

Die Natur Indonesiens ist wohl der größte Trumpf des Landes. Was wir hier alles gesehen haben, ist der Wahnsinn. Vulkane, Dschungel, Orang Utans, Affen, Haie, Mantas - all das gehört zu Indonesien.

Das Land glänzt durch eine Vielfalt, die ihres gleichen sucht. Wir glauben, Indonesien ist das abwechslungsreichste Land dieser Erde.

Sumatra bietet dichten Dschungel und die letzten Orang Utans und Tiger dieses Planeten. Unternehmt dort mehrtägige Wanderungen und übernachtet im Dschungel in einem Camp am Wasserfall. Ihr werdet von Affen geweckt werden, von fluoreszierenden Libellen in den Abend begleitet und von den Geräuschen des Dschungels in den Schlaf gesungen werden.

Erlebt Java mit seinen Vulkanen und Hochebenen. Wandert bei vollkommener Dunkelheit auf einen Vulkan in dessen Krater blaue Flammen brennen oder erlebt den Sonnenaufgang mit Blick auf den Bromo-Vulkan. In der Umgebung von Yogyakarta findet ihr mit Borobudur und Prambanan mit die beeindruckendsten alten Tempel der Welt.

Bali erwartet euch mit schwarzen und weißen Stränden, seiner unnachahmlichen Lebensart und dem unglaublichen Essen.

Und dann ganz im Osten - fast vergessen - ist noch Flores mit den letzten Drachen der Welt - den weltbekannten Komodowaranen. Eine Wanderung auf Rinca oder Komodo mit den riesigen Echsen ist eine Art Jurassic-Park-Erfahrung. Viele Wissen es nicht, aber die Inseln des Komodo Nationalparks bilden eine Grenze zwischen Indischem Ozean und Pazifik. Die Gezeiten drücken zweimal am Tag. nährstoffreiches Wasser durch diesen Flaschenhals und das lässt hier auch unter Wasser das Leben blühen. Der Komodo-Nationalpark ist eines der besten Tauchgebiete der Welt. Unfassbar bunte Korallenriffe und eine Fischvielfalt, die ihres gleichen sucht.

All das ist Indonesien. Lasst euch einfach verzaubern.

Reiseziel Indonesien

Essen - Indonesien Reisetipps

Essen in Indonesien ist auf jeden Fall scharf, abwechslungsreich und lecker. An jeder Ecke gibt es kleine Essensläden und Garküchen - sogenannte Warungs - die typische Gerichte wie Nasi (Reis) Goreng oder Mi (Nudeln) Goreng anbieten. Diese beiden Gerichte sind sehr dominant in den Warungs und werden mit verschiedenen Sorten von Fisch, Fleisch oder Gemüse angeboten. Auch die Night Markets, die man immer wieder findet, bieten unglaubliche Geschmacksexplosionen. Einen empfindlichen Magen sollte man dabei aber nicht haben. Auf Gili Trawangan haben wir frischen Fisch vom Grill mit köstlichen Beilagen für wenig Geld bekommen. Eines der besten Essen der gesamten Reise.

Unser Indonesien Reisetipp: Lasst euch auf das lokale Essen ein.

Frischer Kaffee? Meistens Fehlanzeige! Kaffee wird vor allem auf Java und Sumatra in kleinen Instant-Päckchen angeboten, die mit Wasser aufgegossen werden. Was wir nach einer Nacht mit wenig Schlaf aber sehr empfehlen können, ist Kopi Susu - stark gesüßter Instant-Kaffee mit Milchpulver. Eigentlich nicht so unser Ding, aber extrem lecker und einer unserer Indonesien Reisetipps.

Essen Indonesien

Klima - Indonesien Reisetipps

Indonesiens Klima  ist durch seine Lage in den Tropen geprägt. Warm ist es zumindest auf Meereshöhe eigentlich immer. Aber auf den Hochplateaus von Java kann es wirklich kühl werden. Nehmt euch immer warme Kleidung mit, wenn ihr in bergige Regionen aufbrecht. Wir haben uns auf Java bei den Vulkanen da ziemlich verschätzt.

Wie in den Tropen üblich gibt es keine Jahreszeiten wie bei uns, sondern das Jahr ist in Regen- und Trockenzeit aufgeteilt. Da sich das Land auf unzähligen Inseln und tausenden Kilometern in die Breite zieht, sind diese Zeiten überall anders. Es kann also sein, dass im Osten des Landes perfekte Reisezeit ist und im Westen Regenzeit. Also informiert euch hier genau denn Indonesien ist wirklich riesig und hat viele Facetten. In manchen Regionen kann sich aber auch eine Reise in der Regenzeit lohnen, denn die täglichen Schauer sind zwar heftig, aber meistens kurz.

Abhängig von euren Vorlieben, könnt ihr euch die beste Insel und den besten Zeitraum für eure Reise also aussuchen. Indonesien ist ein waschechtes Ganzjahresziel.

Reiseziel Indonesien