Atana Musandam Resort

Atana Musandam Resort

Atana Musandam Resort in Khasab

The Musandam Peninsula is one of the most fascinating landscapes that we have ever seen and one of the most beautiful and at the same time most untouched places of the Oman. If you visit Oman, take a look at this peninsula in the far north of the country. It is a must for anyone going on a tour of Oman. The area is so impressive and so different from anything we've seen before. Most comparable to the Norwegian fjord landscape - only with summer temperatures and water with bath temperature. If you're looking for a hotel to explore the area properly, check out the Atana Musandam Resort [ad]. In our opinion an excellent choice in Khasab.

LOCATION OF THE ATANA MUSANDAM RESORT

The Atana Musandam has a sensational location overlooking the Strait of Hormuz and the sublime cliffs of the Musandam Peninsula. If you have a sea view room, you can watch the small and large dhows at work. The locals use the dhows - traditional Omani wooden boats - for fishing, transporting and trading food. The remote villages on the peninsula are often only accessible from the water. Of course, as a tourist you can also explore the most beautiful corners of the Musandam Peninsula by dhow.

The proximity to the national airport of Khasab is of course also great. You only need a few minutes by car to the airport. It's best to let the hotel organize a transfer for you. Public transport and taxis are rather rare in Khasab.

The journey takes place either by plane from Muscat or by land from the United Arab Emirates. A third alternative that we have not tested is the arrival by ferry from Muscat.

The Musandam Peninsula is an enclave of the Oman included in the United Arab Emirates in the far north of the Arabian Peninsula and located directly on the Strait of Hormuz.

Equipment and design

The design of the hotel is really impressive. The combination of modern and classic Arabic runs from the lobby to the restaurant and pool area to the rooms. There is really an eye catcher or a lovingly designed detail on every corner. High-quality wood and stone dominate the style of the hotel.

The rooms are equipped with a very luxurious bed and a modern flat screen TV. The ensuite bathroom has a very elegant stone look and is equipped with high-quality care products such as fragrant shampoos, creams and shower gels. The terrace with a view of the sea or mountains is small, but quiet and very private. Nobody disturbs you at dinner on your own terrace.

The rooms are equipped with safety boxes, WiFi, telephone, air conditioning, mini bar and coffee machine. Of course you can also have your laundry washed.

The pool is perfectly integrated into the beautifully maintained garden and offers a great view of the water or the surrounding mountains. In the pool area you can let the Arabian sun burn on your stomach on high-quality and comfortable loungers. SPA, playground and fitness center are also of high quality, great in design and of course sparkling clean and hygienic.

The Atana Musandam is probably the most luxurious and best hotel in Khasab. In addition to this hotel, Atana operates a second hotel in Khasab, the Atana Khasab. It is located on the seafront, but just outside of Khasab. We didn't see it from the inside.

ACTIVITIES

The approach to the Musandam Peninsula gives an idea of ​​what you can experience here. There are so many activities to do during your stay in Khasab. Jeep Safari (4 × 4) in the higher parts of the area with a view of the fjords or day trips through the Musandam Fjord.

We chose a 2-day dhow tour at the time. We were traditionally fishing, enjoyed delicious BBQ with the fished fish, snorkeled in the fjord and watched dolphins who accompanied our dhow jumping and dancing. A unique experience. Here you can read about our Musandam Tour with a local provider.

Of course, the Atana Musandam Resort also offers a variety of activities in the region: You can take part in mountain safaris, dhow tours, fishing, diving or a traditional zaree ceremony.

In the hotel you will also find an excellent SPA - the URU SPA - where you can pamper yourself with massages and other therapies.

Reisetipps Oman

CULINARY PLEASURE AT THE ATANA MUSANDAM RESORT

The restaurant and room service are of a good standard and impress with a first-class price-performance ratio. In the evening we ordered the mezzeh platter for two in our room and were surprised with great humus, various oriental salads and delicious pastries. We can fully recommend the plate.

The "Fresh catch of the day" activity is of course really cool, whereby you first go out to sea to fish and your catch is later prepared for dinner according to your wishes and served back at the Atana Musandam Resort in the Al Mawra restaurant.

Breakfast also offers an excellent selection of Western and Arabic delicacies. You can sit in the restaurant area or outside, where you can enjoy your coffee while the morning temperatures are still pleasant. Breakfast is served in buffet form. Strengthen yourself for the day with tropical fruits, muesli, various nuts, bread, rolls, flatbread and a large selection of sweet baked goods. The breakfast chef will be happy to prepare every conceivable egg dish for you on site. Here you will not only get the traditional Arabic mocha, but also cappuccino, latte macchiato and other coffee specialties. Simply delicious.

Conclusion

We really liked the Atana Musandam. We would have loved to spend another night there and continue to enjoy the great location, great service and delicious food.

All in all, the Atana Musandam is an excellent choice for your stay in Khasab and the ideal starting point for your adventures on Musandam. If we come back to the Musandam Peninsula, which we definitely intend to do, we will stay at the Atana Musandam again, because here we felt in good hands, it tasted good and we didn't get bored. What more do you want when you can be a guest in a very remote area with breathtaking nature? In any case, we enjoyed it very much and would therefore be happy to recommend the hotel to you.

Other posts you may be interested in:

Hotel Website

Website of the Atana Musandam Resort.

Tour operator Musandam

Discover the beautiful Musandam Fjords with the dhow.

Packing list

Here you will find our packing list for your trip to Oman.

Hotel booking

Book your stay at the Atana Musandam Resort.

Oman Highlights

Our top 10 highlights on our Oman tour.

Hotels in Oman

We have a few hotel recommendations for you.

Oman travel tips

General information you need for your trip.

Oman travel report

We report on our adventure and route.
en_US
de_DE_formal en_US

Atana Musandam Resort

Atana Musandam Resort in Khasab ♦ Oman

Die Musandam Halbinsel gehört zu den faszinierendsten Landschaften, die wir bisher gesehen haben und zu den schönsten und zugleich noch unberührtesten Orten des Omans. Wenn ihr den Oman besucht, schaut auch diese Halbinsel im hohen Norden des Landes an. Es ist ein Muss für alle, die eine Oman-Rundreise machen. Die Gegend ist so eindrücklich und so anders als alles, was wir bisher gesehen haben. Am ehesten zu vergleichen mit der norwegischen Fjordlandschaft – nur mit sommerlichen Temperaturen und Wasser mit Badewannentemperatur. Wenn ihr ein Hotel sucht, um die Gegend richtig zu erkunden, dann schaut euch mal das Atana Musandam Resort [anzeige] an. Unserer Meinung nach eine hervorragende Wahl in Khasab.

Lage des Atana Musandam Resort

Das Atana Musandam hat eine sensationelle Lage mit Blick auf die Straße von Hormuz und die erhabenen Klippen der Musandam-Halbinsel. Wenn ihr ein Zimmer mit Meerblick habt, könnt ihr den kleinen und großen Dhows bei der Arbeit zusehen. Die Einheimischen benutzen die Dhows – dabei handelt es sich um traditionelle omanische Holzboote – zum Fischen, zum Transport und Handeln von Lebensmitteln. Die abgelegenen Dörfer auf der Halbinsel sind oft nur vom Wasser aus zu erreichen. Natürlich könnt ihr auch als Tourist per Dhow die schönsten Ecken der Musandam Halbinsel erkunden.

Klasse ist natürlich auch die Nähe zum nationalen Flughafen von Khasab. Zum Flughafen braucht ihr nur wenige Minuten mit dem Auto. Am besten ihr lasst euch vom Hotel einen Transfer organisieren. Öffentliche Verkehrsmittel und Taxis sind in Khasab eher rar.

Die Anreise erfolgt entweder per Flugzeug von Muskat oder auf dem Landweg aus den Vereinigten Arabischen Emiraten. Eine dritte von uns nicht getestete Alternative ist die Anreise per Fähre von Muskat.

Die Musandam Halbinsel ist eine von den Vereinigten Arabischen Emiraten eingeschlossene Enklave des Omans ganz im Norden der Arabischen Halbinsel und direkt an der Straße von Hormuz gelegen.

Atana Musandam Resort

Ausstattung und Design

Das Design des Hotels ist wirklich beeindruckend. Die Kombination aus modern und klassisch-arabisch zieht sich von der Lobby, über das Restaurant und die Poollandschaft bis zu den Zimmern durch. Es findet sich wirklich an jeder Ecke ein Eyecatcher oder ein liebevoll gestaltetes Detail. Hochwertiges Holz und Stein dominieren den Stil des Hotels.

Atana Musandam Resort
Atana Musandam Resort

Die Zimmer sind mit einem sehr luxuriösen Bett und einem modernen Flat-Screen-TV ausgestattet. Das Ensuite-Badezimmer ist in sehr edler Steinoptik gehalten und mit hochwertigen Pflegeartikeln wie gutriechenden Shampoos, Cremes und Duschgels bestückt. Die Terrasse mit Blick auf Meer oder Berge ist zwar klein, aber ruhig und sehr privat. Niemand stört beim Dinner auf der eigenen Terrasse.

Die Zimmer sind ausgestattet mit Safety Boxen, WiFi, Telefon, Klimaanlage, Mini-Bar und Kaffeemaschine. Natürlich könnt ihr auch eure Wäsche waschen lassen.

Atana Musandam Resort

Der Pool ist perfekt in die schön gepflegte Gartenanlage integriert und bietet einen tollen Ausblick auf das Wasser oder die umliegenden Berge. Im Poolbereich könnt ihr euch auf hochwertigen und bequemen Liegen die arabische Sonne auf den Bauch brennen lassen. Auch SPA, Spielplatz und Fitnesscenter sind hochwertig ausgestattet, toll im Design und natürlich blitzsauber und hygienisch.

Das Atana Musandam ist vermutlich das luxuriöseste und beste Hotel in Khasab. Neben diesem Hotel betreibt Atana mit dem Atana Khasab noch ein zweites Hotel in Khasab. Es liegt direkt am Meer, jedoch etwas außerhalb von Khasab. Von innen haben wir es nicht gesehen.

Atana Musandam Resort

Aktivitäten

Bereits der Anflug auf die Musandam Halbinsel lässt erahnen, was man hier tolles erleben kann. Es gibt so viele Aktivitäten, die man während des Aufenthalts in Khasab machen kann. Jeep Safari (4x4) in die höheren Teile des Gebietes mit Blick hinunter auf die Fjorde oder Tagestouren durch den Musandam Fjord.

Wir haben damals eine 2-Tages-Dhow-Tour gewählt. Wir waren traditionell fischen, haben leckeres BBQ mit den geangelten Fischen genossen, haben im Fjord geschnorchelt und konnten Delfinen zusehen, die unsere Dhow springend und tanzend begleitet haben. Ein einmaliges Erlebnis. Hier lest ihr über unsere Musandam Tour mit einem ortsansässigen Anbieter.

Natürlich bietet auch das Atana Musandam Resort eine Vielzahl an Aktivitäten in der Region: Ihr könnt an Mountain Safaris, Dhow Touren, Fischen, Tauchen oder einer traditionellen Zaree-Zeremonie teilnehmen.

Im Hotel findet ihr auch ein hervorragendes SPA – das URU SPA - wo ihr euch mit Massagen und anderen Therapien verwöhnen lassen könnt.

Tourempfehlung Oman

Kulinarischer Genuss im Atana Musandam Resort

Das Restaurant und der Room-Service sind auf gutem Niveau und bestechen durch ein für den Oman erstklassiges Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis. Wir haben uns abends die Mezzeh-Platte für zwei Personen aufs Zimmer bestellt und wurden mit tollem Humus, verschiedenen orientalischen Salate und leckerem Gebäck überrascht. Wir können die Platte uneingeschränkt empfehlen.

Wirklich cool ist natürlich die angebotene Aktivität „Fresh catch of the day“, wobei ihr erst aufs Meer zum Fischen rausfahrt und euren Fang später zum Dinner nach euren Wünschen zubereitet und zurück im Atana Musandam Resort im Restaurant Al Mawra serviert bekommt.

Auch das Frühstück bietet eine hervorragende Auswahl an westlichen und arabischen Köstlichkeiten. Ihr könnt im Restaurantbereich sitzen oder aber auch draußen, wo ihr bei noch angenehmen morgendlichen Temperaturen euren Kaffee genießen könnt. Das Frühstück wird in Buffet-Form dargereicht. Stärkt euch für den Tag mit tropischen Früchten, Müsli, verschiedenen Nüssen, Brot, Brötchen, Fladenbrot und einer großen Auswahl an süßen Backwaren. Der Frühstückskoch bereitet euch gerne jede erdenkliche Eierspeise direkt vor Ort zu. Hier bekommt ihr nicht nur den traditionellen arabischen Mokka, sondern auch Cappuccino, Latte Macchiato und andere Kaffeespezialitäten. Einfach nur lecker.

Fazit

Das Atana Musandam hat uns wirklich sehr gut gefallen. Wir hätten gerne noch eine weitere Nacht dort verbracht und die tolle Lage, den klasse Service und das leckere Essen weiter genossen. Alles in allem ist das Atana Musandam eine hervorragende Wahl für den Aufenthalt in Khasab und die optimale Ausgangsbasis für eure Abenteuer auf Musandam. Wenn wir nochmal auf die Musandam Halbinsel kommen, was wir definitiv vorhaben, werden wir wieder im Atana Musandam unterkommen, denn hier haben wir uns gut aufgehoben gefühlt, es hat uns geschmeckt und uns wurde nicht langweilig. Was will man mehr, wenn man in einer sehr abgelegenen Gegend, mit atemberaubender Natur zu Gast sein darf? Wir haben es jedenfalls sehr genossen und empfehlen euch das Hotel deswegen gerne weiter.

 

Hier lest ihr unseren Reisebericht über unsere Oman-Reise.

Hier haben wir euch wertvolle Reisetipps für den Oman zusammengestellt.

Hier kommt ihr zur Buchung des Atana Musandam.

Hier geht’s zur Website des Hotels.

♦♦♦♦